Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-06-2014, 04:40 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aqualady40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,330
Odyssea t5HO

What are your experiences with these lights? How well are these lights over a 55g? Also, can one bulb be ran at a time? I ask the last question because I am currently using 2 t8 and I know once I go t5ho I may have to use gradually...

__________________
Current tanks: 55g/ 40B/ 20H/, 5g
If you always do what you've always done, you'll end with the same results
Aqualady40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 04:42 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
misterc007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Detroit
Posts: 169
I have one, it works fine. I've been using it for 2 years.
__________________
misterc007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 04:44 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aqualady40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,330
Quote:
Originally Posted by misterc007 View Post
I have one, it works fine. I've been using it for 2 years.
What size tank? You have picture of tank with it on it?
__________________
Current tanks: 55g/ 40B/ 20H/, 5g
If you always do what you've always done, you'll end with the same results
Aqualady40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 04:50 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Marshallc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 76
I've been runnin their quad t5 for over a year. I love it haven't had a single issue yet
__________________
Marshallc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 04:54 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aqualady40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,330
Anyone care to post a picture?
__________________
Current tanks: 55g/ 40B/ 20H/, 5g
If you always do what you've always done, you'll end with the same results
Aqualady40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 05:02 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Marshallc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 76
I got one but I just completely cleared out my tank. Had a bad outbreak of cyano so I just dumped it all.
__________________
Marshallc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 05:34 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aqualady40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,330
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marshallc View Post
I got one but I just completely cleared out my tank. Had a bad outbreak of cyano so I just dumped it all.
Sorry to hear that...
__________________
Current tanks: 55g/ 40B/ 20H/, 5g
If you always do what you've always done, you'll end with the same results
Aqualady40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 05:38 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Marshallc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 76
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1391726309.750287.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	140.9 KB
ID:	221137like I said its bare
__________________
Marshallc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 06:14 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
misterc007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Detroit
Posts: 169
This is with 1 bulb, I run 1 bulb for an hour and then 2 for 5 hrs, Any more then that and I get algae issue's. 55g tank.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1Bulb.JPG
Views:	68
Size:	126.0 KB
ID:	221148  
__________________
misterc007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 06:30 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aqualady40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,330
Quote:
Originally Posted by misterc007 View Post
This is with 1 bulb, I run 1 bulb for an hour and then 2 for 5 hrs, Any more then that and I get algae issue's. 55g tank.
That was something else I was wondering... how are you getting one bulb to run (manually removing one then add it back?) because I wanted to gradually use both bulbs myself
__________________
Current tanks: 55g/ 40B/ 20H/, 5g
If you always do what you've always done, you'll end with the same results
Aqualady40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 06:33 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aqualady40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,330
EDIT....I just realized I made a mistake...I meant Odyssea t5HO
__________________
Current tanks: 55g/ 40B/ 20H/, 5g
If you always do what you've always done, you'll end with the same results
Aqualady40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 06:54 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
misterc007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Detroit
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aqualady40 View Post
That was something else I was wondering... how are you getting one bulb to run (manually removing one then add it back?) because I wanted to gradually use both bulbs myself
The light I have is a 3 bulb and the timer allows you to run 1, 2 or 3 bulbs plus led moon lights in whatever combination you want. So i do 1 bulb on at 5:30 then off at 6:30 then 2 bulbs on at 6:30 and off at 11:30 then (sometimes) led moon lights on at 11:30 off at 12:00. You get the idea.

I used to run 1 on then 3 then 1 but it was to much light and the plants were just growing to fast, and then the algae got me.

They don't have the 3 bulb light anymore but they do have the 4 which I believe (someone correct me if I'm wrong) you could pull one bulb out of that bank and achieve the same thing I'm doing (if you wanted to)

If you just get a 2 bulb fixture you'd be fine as long as you don't try and do it for 12 hours or something like that.
__________________
misterc007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 07:46 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mijo51380's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 268
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1391733888.890680.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	165.8 KB
ID:	221161 This is an odyssea quad t5 on a 55g
__________________
Mijo51380 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
t5ho, odyssea, sea

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odyssea Lights Help.? bckane General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 09-15-2005 09:37 AM
opinions about Odyssea lighting? Dr.Nate Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 05-14-2005 08:33 PM
ODYSSEA Power Compacts - Anyone use them badfish Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 05-07-2005 02:18 PM
ODYSSEA Skimmer? mjvincent Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 04-08-2005 09:49 AM
Odyssea Lights? Joemama16341 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 01-27-2005 09:43 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.