Oh BOY! Confused about where to begin...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nowzem

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I know this is probably the millionth post with this same subject, but I'm having difficulty finding exactly what I want to know by searching. I used to be" into" aquariums and had a good general knowledge of what types of lighting was best for reefs and planted tanks, but this was about 10 years ago. Now, I've decided I'd like to start a planted, tetra-style tank and I've discovered all the lighting options have changed and ones that were too expensive for me 10 years ago (a teenager working in a pet store) are now affordable! :) I am planning to use a 20g long that's currently residing empty in my basement. I'll need brand new light fixtures, bulbs, a canopy, etc. What does everyone recommend? Please consider me as a complete newb who doesn't have a clue. Thanks!

I've been looking into Compact Flor's...the only 30" seems to be a dual bulb (at least on hellolights.com)...providing too much wattage. Is it ok to use a 24" 65W? This one is highly affordable and seems to provide the perfect wattage. It seems I remember reading that many people supplement their CF with a regular hood light as well...is that recommended? Am I going to need a cooling fan? What about CO2 kits? Any recommendations there? I've only peeked at the lighting sticky so far, so feel free to direct me to other posts! Your help is greatly appreciated!

If you are looking to go with medium or high light plants, I would look into T5HO. A dual T5HO fixture would give you lots of options.

fish need it;lights; food;Sponge has some great prices right now on their T5HO fixtures.

LEDs is also something to look into. They have been around awhile now with hydroponics, but are just starting to make their way in the last year or so into the mainstream of FW planted tanks.