PAR levels

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

delfisherman

Aquarium Advice Freak
im an electrician and have been reading about par levels with led in aquariums. i always used lumens to measure light brightness and have had a hard understanding how these par levels even came about and how its only with leds. i cant even buy a par level meter and almost think it could be measured another way because leds are still sold by watts and lumens.

I'd love to know another way. There is even PUR where U refers to useable. There are no fish clubs in my area and really I can't justify buying a meter. Even some rules of thumb would be handy.

yeah i understand but the higher the lumens the stronger the light is the farther its going to penetrate. A 400l isnt going to penetrate as far as a 1000l and a 1000l isnt gonna penetrate as far as a 2000l. so in theory the higher the lumens the more light is going to make it too the bottom and be used. The 6500k temperature of the led and the strength of the light should be what matters. i know there has to be an easier way to rate these lights and make it easier way to explain to people how stong their light is without having to contact the maker.

There just isn't an easier way right now. PAR and PUR are it in the context of planted tanks. Not all LEDs (or even fluorescents) are created equal. There's variations in spectrum (as shown in spectral graphs, not just what us humans see as visible light...that's just a facade) and bandwidths, wavelengths, etc. Lumens or watts simply can't translate into effectiveness. You can easily be bright (lumens) but be supplying your plants with inadequate full-spectrum.