Plant help pwease!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Irish.OG87

Aquarium Advice Freak
Ok I have a 36g bowfront, witha 8000k full spectrum daylight 17W 120v T8 24" light....need to know what plants would work best with this light, fyi im a newb.

unfortunately even low light plants may have a hard time growing with that little of light. you should really have closer to 1wpg to grow things like crypts and anubias. it's possible java fern could do OK in your set-up, but 17w is really pushing it. if you could get a second fixture, low light plants would do great (crypts, anubias, java fern, anacharis)

that is a very loaded question :)

read these articles:
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f24/a-beginners-guide-to-lighting-53375.html

So You Want a Planted Aquarium

Planted tank basics

that will give you an idea about the planted tank basics.

then look here: PlantGeek.net - Plant Guide browse through the plants (they are organized in several different ways--light requirements, difficulty, etc) and figure out what plants, or type of plants you want to keep. then let us know what kind of time/money you want to invest, then we can give you some suggestions on what lighting/equipment/plants will work best for you.

Pigeonfood, is this the Aqueon kit ?
I have the same setup and as mommytron said, the light is a bummer.

Problem with light upgrade is finding a glass top that fits the bowfront... without costing an arm and leg.. actually both arms and legs if you have it shipped lol.

So far java moss at 10 days is fine and growing (about a half inch growth).
Hornwort, floating at the surface, is at least still alive but only had it 3 days.

The plants suggested by mommytron are your best bet, just see what works, and go from there.