Plant/light suggestions for tall aquarium?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

allysonwonderland

Aquarium Advice Regular
I'm planning on getting a Marineland 56 gallon "column" aquarium soon and would like for it to be relatively planted. The dimensions are 30L x 18W x 24H and I've heard that the height could make things difficult, but I have no real experience maintaining aquarium plants.

Could someone suggest what light I would need to get, and what plants would do well in a taller tank? My knowledge of plants is limited, but I have a preference towards separate leafy plants like java fern and moneywort instead of "feathery" ones like anacharis and hornwort. I'd like a combination of tall ones and short ones, and I'm not opposed to the carpeting I see in some pictures.

I'm planning to design the substrate similar to this picture: http://www.wetwebmedia.com/ca/volume_2/cav2i6/planted_aquascaping/small_pics/4-23_front.JPG

I'll be using white gravel for the front and path, and a mixture of eco complete and black gravel for the dark substrate, where the plants will be.

And an edit: do I put the plants in first or the fish?

If anyone has ANY suggestions, please feel free!

First you need to decide if you want to do a low light tank with mainly java ferns, anubia's, crypt's, and such. In such a tank with lower light most carpeting plants won't work as there isn't enough light.

You could go medium light with something like a dual bulb T5HO fixture and have a few more choices in plants you could use. You could then possibly use Hydrocotyle sp."Japan" or Staurogyne sp. "Repens". Crypt Parva could be used as a small accent foreground plant also. There are LED light available but your tank depth may be an issue. If you PM Brian_Nano12g you could ask him what LED's for planted tanks might work.