Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-08-2004, 07:15 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: McKinney, Tx
Posts: 3,548
Send a message via AIM to lyquidphyre
Plant Noob Questions

Since I have the lighting and the CO2 and the Eco Complete substrate... do I just buy and plant plants?

The guy I bought my tank from had some plant chemicals and plant food... what is recommended to use and not to use.

How much CO2 should I release (bubbles per sec wise) when growing/adding plants

These were the plants I really liked-
Anacharis, Narrow leaf Chain Sword, Corkscrew and Contortian, Vallisneria, Rotala Magenta and Marcranda, Water Sprite (my fav), Green Fox tail, Lave Java Fern, Jave Fern and Wisteria

Granted, im not going to get all of those plants (I don't think heh) but are all of those able to grow under a 250watt light? And which ones should a Noob like myself steer clear from.


Sorry for all the questions.
__________________

__________________

lyquidphyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2004, 09:10 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sarasota, FL.
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to AlexPerez
Go to this site and do some reading. find out all you can about the special needs of a planted tank to save you lots of headache in the future.
http://www.aquariaplants.com/
__________________

__________________
AlexPerez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2004, 10:37 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BrianNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 4,535
Alex gave you an excellent link Katy. To simplify things you need to understand a bit more about CO2 and water chemistry before you turn those lights on. When injecting CO2 the first thing you need to know is the kH of your water. CO2 in an unbuffered aquarium will cause the pH to crash. That much lighting without CO2 will grow terrific algae. All of that must be balanced with the proper nutrients. It isn't really as complicated as it sounds.

You should be able to grow any plant you fancy.
__________________
BrianNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2004, 02:33 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: McKinney, Tx
Posts: 3,548
Send a message via AIM to lyquidphyre
That link is wonderful. I read up about the CO2 and it makes sense

Does it matter that I have a huge pleco, or would the algae be apart of the water? (green water)

Right now the CO2 is off and the lights are on (er, not at the moment they are on a timer) but there are no plants yet- will that be a problem for my lone fish?
__________________

lyquidphyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2004, 09:37 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sarasota, FL.
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to AlexPerez
if you have the plants yet then you don't need the lights on as it could cause algae outbreaks. have you done any testing to see what you water params are. some of the test kits you should have for a planted tank would be
KH, GH, Nitrate, PH and phospahte. don't bother with iron test kits.
Once you get an idea of what your water is like. we can then give you more specific advice on how to proceed.
I was looking at your plant list and you should have no problem growing them.
Depeneding on your water some plants like Rotala Magenta might not grow very well. It likes soft water.
__________________
AlexPerez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2004, 05:17 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: McKinney, Tx
Posts: 3,548
Send a message via AIM to lyquidphyre
My PH was 7.2 if I remember correctly but I didn't do the tests for the KH and GH because I was just testing to make sure the water was okay for my Pleco

I will do that here shortly and report back =o)
__________________

lyquidphyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2004, 09:29 PM   #7
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Does it matter that I have a huge pleco,
Yes, it can matter. Exactly how big is this fish? Just swimming around, big Plecs can tear your plants up from the substrate, before the plants are established and well rooted.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2004, 09:50 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: McKinney, Tx
Posts: 3,548
Send a message via AIM to lyquidphyre
he is about 7in long.. he pretty much stays in one place and when he does swim its not on the bottom.. its on the top er something

what if you have a lot of substrate to plant your plants in? would that help him not pull em up before they are well rooted?
__________________

lyquidphyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2004, 10:12 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: McKinney, Tx
Posts: 3,548
Send a message via AIM to lyquidphyre
I did testing and im confused.

I didn't have any tests to test for Nitrate or Phosphate but I had tests to test for nitrite

when I did the GH and KH test it took 10 drops to turn the GH blue which equals "medium hard" but the KH took 6 drops.

Am i supposed to subtract the two? if so then I have "soft water" which I don't think is the case.. im pretty sure the water isn't soft

anyways.. now what?
heh
__________________

lyquidphyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2004, 11:07 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sarasota, FL.
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to AlexPerez
Now you know your KH is at 6 and your GH is at 10 which is not bad water for plants. according to your post your PH is at 7.2 which gives you 11.4 ppm of CO2.
this is a bit high for someone not using CO2 injection so I would recheck those figures.
by the way here is another link to help you along with your planted endeavor.
http://rexgrigg.com/main.htm
__________________
AlexPerez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2004, 12:06 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: McKinney, Tx
Posts: 3,548
Send a message via AIM to lyquidphyre
I was using the C02 for a while, but turned it off since I wasn't growing plants- would that have any effect?

The chart on that site says if my water parameters are that way then my water is okay


Okay, i just redid the ph tests
its at 6.8-7.0
__________________

__________________

lyquidphyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
plant

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
plant id noob Valentine Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 07-05-2007 04:24 PM
Low-Medium light(~2wpg) 75 gallon tank. Plant noob - few ?'s Radioheadx14 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 10 06-02-2007 07:53 PM
Noob questions NickNasty Nano Reefs 4 11-20-2006 09:57 AM
Noob here with questions to ask NickNasty Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 10-15-2006 09:58 PM
Ordered plants online...(plant noob) gfink Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 02-11-2005 11:08 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.