Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-10-2012, 11:09 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jackwagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 504
Planted 10 with RCS

Set up my 10 gallon tank with my live plants and black sand today. I have been seeding my sponge filter in my 55 gallon tank. My plant list is

1x misc. anubias
5x rotala indica/rotundifloria
4x crypt wenditii
1x created java fern
1x java miss

This afternoon I'm getting my RCS and I'm really excited!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2276451869.jpg
Views:	129
Size:	134.1 KB
ID:	111680  
__________________

__________________
jackwagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 11:40 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
fishfool58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 504
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackwagon
Set up my 10 gallon tank with my live plants and black sand today. I have been seeding my sponge filter in my 55 gallon tank. My plant list is

1x misc. anubias
5x rotala indica/rotundifloria
4x crypt wenditii
1x created java fern
1x java miss

This afternoon I'm getting my RCS and I'm really excited!
I like it! I was just given a 10 gallon tank, & I'm going to make it a planted aquarium as well, with RCS, 1 assassin snail, & some fish, still debating on what kind.. What is your filter & lighting you are using?
__________________

__________________
fishfool58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 11:43 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jackwagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 504
My filter is a Hagen sponge filter that I picked up for $8. My lighting is actually an Aqueon hood that I bought at Petco. It's called a deluxe hood and it came with a 15w t8 bulb that is actually pretty good. It cost $40 but it's worth it.
__________________
jackwagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 11:58 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
adadkins1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Morristown, TN
Posts: 1,762
I had my RCS colony with 3 females in a 10g with a 23W CFL and a little Java Moss. This started in May, now I have moved them to a 5g along with copious amounts of Java Moss and somewhere around 3 dozen+ RCS. It really is fun to watch them go from about half the size of your pinky nail and colorless to a 1" beauty.

You tank looks like a wonderful place to keep some of these great little shrimp!
__________________
><(((> Aaron ><(((>
adadkins1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 12:00 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jackwagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 504
Thanks! I just got these plants and I'm hoping they fill in nicely. I might also do a DIY co2 system to really get things going. But I'm out of money now so this is my setup for awhile
__________________
jackwagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 12:05 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
adadkins1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Morristown, TN
Posts: 1,762
I'd say CO2 wouldn't really be necessary anyways. 15W T8 flourescent is low, medium-low at the most on a 10g; should grow the plants you have though.
__________________
><(((> Aaron ><(((>
adadkins1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 12:31 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jackwagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 504
Ok then I might just leave it as is. It's hard not to tinker though
__________________
jackwagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 01:40 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
adadkins1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Morristown, TN
Posts: 1,762
I agree, I like to always be doing something to one of my tanks.
__________________
><(((> Aaron ><(((>
adadkins1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 02:16 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
fishfool58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 504
Quote:
Originally Posted by adadkins1
I agree, I like to always be doing something to one of my tanks.
Same here.. I always look for stuff to do to them..
__________________
fishfool58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 02:27 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jackwagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 504
My RCS arrived and I've been acclimating them and now they are in their new home. Thanks to maxwellag!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-692497604.jpg
Views:	107
Size:	190.6 KB
ID:	111702   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1300596980.jpg
Views:	92
Size:	174.4 KB
ID:	111703  

__________________
jackwagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 12:25 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rkilling1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NE ohio
Posts: 2,245
Send a message via AIM to rkilling1
I would be watching the parameters closely. Shrimp and new tanks don't always go well together. (Seeded or not)
__________________
My Planted Aquariums
rkilling1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 12:35 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jackwagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 504
I know that's why I'm doing 25% changes every 3 days
__________________
jackwagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 01:02 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rkilling1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NE ohio
Posts: 2,245
Send a message via AIM to rkilling1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackwagon View Post
I know that's why I'm doing 25% changes every 3 days
25% PWC's and monitoring the parameters are two different things. Regardless if you perform PWC's, you should be testing the tank at least daily to see how it's going and make sure that the PWC's are enough.
__________________
My Planted Aquariums
rkilling1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 01:57 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jackwagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 504
I am testing everyday for nitrates, ammonia and nitrites.
__________________
jackwagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 03:15 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jackwagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 504
Can I use flourish with the RCS?
__________________
jackwagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 05:05 PM   #16
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackwagon
Can I use flourish with the RCS?
I see no harm in doing so as I've dosed flourish comp in my fluval edge for over a year now with no ill affects...
__________________
tiger terror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 01:51 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
M1k3y_gumi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Oakland
Posts: 161
Copper is very toxic to all invertebrates and flourish comp contains very small amounts of it but as long as you do not do any serious overdosing you should have anything to worry about!
__________________
M1k3y_gumi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 12:25 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
abbly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Timmins ON, Canada
Posts: 129
Yes as mentioned above flourish is fine if dosed correctly , because the amount of copper are trace. Love RCS tanks have my 10 going right now with 1 new batch of baby RCS so much fun to watch . Looks good - Good luck

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4184962071.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	198.5 KB
ID:	113690
__________________

__________________
abbly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
plant, planted, rcs

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.