Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 03-24-2012, 02:37 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Send a message via Yahoo to UZOTANK
Planted 55 gallon Major Frustration

Alright Forum... Your help is needed.

I have been a planted aquarium hobbyist for 10 years. Up until 2 years ago I havebeen veryr successful growing Val's and ferns. I wanted to step it up two years ago and bought a T5 light with 1 48" 10 K lamp and one 48" 420/460k lamp. Since I have bought this light my Val's have died off and my java ferns are barely alive let alone growing.
I started doing flourish excel this past month and have not noticed any differance. I am ready to rip out and go fake! An suggestions?

55 Gallon
Nitrites 0
Ammonia 0
Nitrates 10
Ph 7.8
Tap water for PWC with water conditioner added

Old 03-24-2012, 03:02 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Many people experience melting Vals using Excel. I have heard some say Vals can acclimate to it after a meltdown though.

Sounds like you might have a little too much light for the Java ferns.

Mine have never done well in higher light, but they do okay if I hide them under larger, leafy plants or driftwood, etc.

Just my two cents

Old 03-24-2012, 03:12 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by mudraker
Many people experience melting Vals using Excel. I have heard some say Vals can acclimate to it after a meltdown though.

Mine have never done well in higher light, but they do okay if I hide them under larger, leafy plants or driftwood, etc.

Just my two cents