Plants Turning Brown

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LiQuiD

Aquarium Advice Activist
Live Plant Noob here,
...So my tank is not a typical planted tank with soil substrate. It is simply sand with live plants. I am adding Tetra Plant Food once every other day for my 55 Gallon. I have a dual T5 Aqueon light on 8-12 hours a day. I have noticed one of my plants is getting brown spots, and another is turning yellow and brown. A couple of my other plants are doing fine though. Am I doing something wrong to keep them alive? Thanks for

Do you know the names of the plants not looking good?
Also I think adding fert every other day may be too much. If the plants are new maybe they are just acclimating. Some of mine went through an unhealthy stage before booming back when first added.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Tank Plants

Live Plant Noob here,
...So my tank is not a typical planted tank with soil substrate. It is simply sand with live plants. I am adding Tetra Plant Food once every other day for my 55 Gallon. I have a dual T5 Aqueon light on 8-12 hours a day. I have noticed one of my plants is getting brown spots, and another is turning yellow and brown. A couple of my other plants are doing fine though. Am I doing something wrong to keep them alive? Thanks for

Hello LiQ...

A few things to think about. New plants take time to get used to new water conditions. The old leaves tend to die back because they're used to the old conditions. Most times, new leaves more used to the new water, will grow. Sand compacts, so there's not much water flow to carry oxygen and nutrients to the plant roots. Root tabs may help.

Water that constantly moves through the filter, loses nutrients. Large, weekly water changes will keep the mineral levels high. Plants will appreciate pure water as much as the fish.