Plants unplanted

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Fishyfanatic

Aquarium Advice Addict
I am going to a new fish store tonight and was going to try and locate some Java Ferns or Crypts. I won't be going home until Friday night. If I do find some plants, would it be fine to buy them and leave them in the plastic bag until Friday night? Or would they have to be immediately planted? If they have to be put into a tank, I was thinking of just plopping them in my brothers 10 gal tank until Friday. Would I need to suppliment the plants with anything or should they be fine until I get home? The only inhabitants in the 10 gal are 2 Guppies.

they should be fine. you should open the plastic bag though. might "suffocate"

It also may depends on the specific plants. Since I'm not an expert with these plants, I can't tell. From my experiences with other water plants, it's best to, at the very least, keep the roots damp. I've kept anacharis and hornwort out of water for roughly 24 hours by keeping them wrapped loosely in a soaked paper towel, changed as needed. I didn't supplement with anything either. Of course, keep them out of direct light, make sure they have an air supply, and aren't allowed to dry out.

So if I filled the bag 1/2 full of water and left the top open, they should be fine? Does the water need to be dechlorinated tap water or could it just be tap water? My parents have a well and don't use Chlorine.