power head- CO2 help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Cliffz

Aquarium Advice Freak
Guys,
Ive been kicking the tires at a planted tank now for about 1-1/2 months. I started bothering you all about substrate first, then lights then ferts. I have been avoiding the investment of Co2. Until my algae and poor plant health issue. yes I have high phosphates-(10) PH 7.2 Nitrate-50ppm

I have a great lite setup, Coralite 4x65 (but I only use 2x65) 2.37wpg :) eco complete substrate, Greg Watson dry ferts.
Well-I just bought an Milwaukee regulator (sorry Rex :( ) and 5lb alum Co2 tank.
Here is where I bother you again,
power head or glass diffuser? which one? check valve which one? CO2 tubing- which one? Any thing else-(besides a new brain) :)
I have plenty of water movement with an AC500 filter-(actually pushes smaller fish toward bottom of tank) Air stone will get removed when I install Co2.
Suggestions and recommendation are appreciated as always
Thanks,
Cliff NY

I would say a powerhead. If you get both, you can place the glass diffuser directly under the powerhead intake, this will eliminate the noise of the impeller hitting the bubbles. As for check valves, if it's a regular plastic one, over time it will get brittle. If you can find a brass one, will last much longer. As for tubing, get CO2 tubing. Regular air tubing will get brittle as well.

A powerhead with give you a variety of options for diffusing CO2 depending on what you combine it with. If you're looking at the mist method you can just pick up a sweatwater airstone and use that instead of the glass diffuser. They create the same size bubbles but the sweatwater stone is a lot less expensive.