Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-12-2021, 12:27 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 44
Pressurized CO2 issues

Hey Guys,

I am having an issue with my new co2 system. I have had pressurized co2 systems for a while now and never had this issue. I recently bought a new set up for a new tank. My issue is no matter how high I have the needle valve turned up I get the same bps. The issue only happens when I have a my inline bubble counter installed and have everything else hooked up. WHen I don't have it hooked up then I can push all the co2 I want (based on observation of the diffuser). But when I put in the bubble counter to accurately measure how much I am pumping I only get about 1 bps regardless how high I have the needle valve. When I unscrew the top part of the bubble counter then the system shoots up a sh*t ton of bubbles. So based on that I thought it was the top of the bubble counter but when I inspect it nothing seems to be wrong, it not clogged or anything. And what is weird is that when I disconnected the diffuser from the system and put the end of the hose in the water I get alot of bubbles.

So in short it seems that I can only have one or the other but not both and I cannot figure out why. Has anyone had this problem before and was able to diagnose it? I have sprayed soapy water on the whole system and to check for leaks but there was none. Any advise or help would be great.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
DC634 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2021, 01:01 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Caliban07's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 5,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by DC634 View Post
Hey Guys,



I am having an issue with my new co2 system. I have had pressurized co2 systems for a while now and never had this issue. I recently bought a new set up for a new tank. My issue is no matter how high I have the needle valve turned up I get the same bps. The issue only happens when I have a my inline bubble counter installed and have everything else hooked up. WHen I don't have it hooked up then I can push all the co2 I want (based on observation of the diffuser). But when I put in the bubble counter to accurately measure how much I am pumping I only get about 1 bps regardless how high I have the needle valve. When I unscrew the top part of the bubble counter then the system shoots up a sh*t ton of bubbles. So based on that I thought it was the top of the bubble counter but when I inspect it nothing seems to be wrong, it not clogged or anything. And what is weird is that when I disconnected the diffuser from the system and put the end of the hose in the water I get alot of bubbles.



So in short it seems that I can only have one or the other but not both and I cannot figure out why. Has anyone had this problem before and was able to diagnose it? I have sprayed soapy water on the whole system and to check for leaks but there was none. Any advise or help would be great.



Thanks

Most bubble counters have a non return valve built in so you have to have them the correct way around.

The other thing is, after you mess with the line you need to prime the line with co2 again. It can take a while before you get the air out and overcome the back pressure of the diffuser. This means the bubble rate goes slow at first then starts going nuts once the co2 is free flowing through the diffuser.
__________________

__________________
Caliban07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2021, 03:05 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 44
I have it the correct way, I guess I will wait and see if it sorts itself out with the back pressure. Thanks
__________________
DC634 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2021, 02:31 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 44
So it has been a few days now and still nothing has changed as far as how many bps I can get.
__________________
DC634 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2021, 07:30 PM   #5
AA Member
Community Moderator
 
Delapool's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 16,676
Wonder if your bubble counter was just a faulty one? Would you have another to try? I havenít used them with my setup.
__________________
Delapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2021, 08:22 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 44
No I do not. But the funny thing is if I disconnect the tubbing just above the bubble counter (bubble counter still on) than it works just fine. Or if I take the bubble counter off then it works just fine.
__________________
DC634 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2021, 03:15 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Caliban07's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 5,920
Wondering what pressure your diffuser is stated to work at? What is the regulator output?
__________________
Caliban07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2021, 09:14 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 44
I cannot find the regulator output pressure. This is the regulator:
https://www.amazon.com/VIVOSUN-Hydro..._d_rp_c_2_14_t

And this is the diffuser:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...1?ie=UTF8&th=1
__________________
DC634 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2021, 09:34 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Caliban07's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 5,920
Not sure to be honest. Can you get some soapy water around all the connections and check for bubbles that would indicate a leak?
__________________
Caliban07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2021, 09:45 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 44
I have already done that when I first noticed it and there was no leaks.
__________________

__________________
DC634 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
co2

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fluval pressurized co2 vs DIY co2 HandSomeDevil13 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 05-20-2016 07:26 AM
What Grade CO2 to use in Pressurized Setup? WhiteCloud Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 10-28-2004 02:00 AM
Pressurized CO2 Reactor tsonnenl Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 17 03-05-2004 07:11 PM
Pressurized CO2 - lets do it tsonnenl Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 20 02-08-2004 02:08 PM
Pitfalls of a pressurized CO2 system? BrianNY Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 1 11-24-2003 08:30 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.