Probably stupid questions.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

evalmore

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello everyone!

I'm about to start a 15-20g freshwater tropical community tank. Right now I'm planning on having guppies, cory cats, ghost shrimp, and snails in the tank. Should I have live plants or fake plants in the tank? Does it really matter? If I do need live plants, what are some basics on raising healthy live plants? Also, if I need live plants, do I add the plants after the tank is cycled or while it is cycling? If you couldn't tell I'm a major newbie and I want to get everything perfect for my fish! Any advice whatsoever will help me out a lot! Thanks!

Also, I forgot to ask. How many plants should I have in my 15-20g tank and what type of plants work best? Again I'm planning on having guppies, Cory cats, snails, and shrimp. Thanks :).

Live plants and fake plants both have their pros and cons. I prefer live plants and have actually never bought any fake ones before. Some live plants will actually help lower nitrites in the tank. Water sprite is one of the best one IMO. There aren't really any major requirements for low light plants. When you get into the med and high light plants, you'll start needing high light, ferts, co2, etc.
Java fern, anubias, bacopa, java moss, some Ludwigia, hornwort, anacharis, frogbit, duckweed, cabomba, and many others are all low light, low requirements, and low maintenance plants.
What lights are you getting? Do you want med light plants too?

Cool, planted all the way

If it is a 20 gallon, I would put one amazon sword, about 4-5 anacharis, and one Marimo moss ball
The amazon sword needs root tabs, put one under the roots and it lasts for months
Also if you want to go heavily planted, then maybe flora max substrate can help

Cool, planted all the way