Question about planted tanks?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mad Professor

Aquarium Advice Activist
Ok I'm a newbie to planted tanks and I have read all the stickys and articles on plants and what they need.

I always thought you needed to replace the fixture if you were to grow plants and having to buy minerals and nutrients mixture to grow such things. I thought it was an expensive task.

But I was looking around one day and saw a topic created by lonewolf, which you can read here http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=84332
And I see that his 10 gallons have normal hoods. So I'm guessing its a Low Lighting tank with plants.

And right now I have a 29 gallon That I'm preparing, *DAMN MTS* and also a 10 Gallon which I've recently put sand in, to see what it would look like before I put it in the 29 gallon.

But now I want to grow plants in my 10 gallon and see if it something I would be up to.

I'm guessing a low lighting would be best to start out on?
is it a daily task or a weekly task?
I need a new bulb for the 10 gallon anyways.
So what bulb would I need for it?
What would I need interms of supplies/equipment to grow such plants?
What plants would be best for me?

Any advice is welcome.

Thx
~Mp

If I were you, I would try for the 29 as a planted tank. A 10 gal low-light tank doesn't allow much room for plant varieties. You would need to put at least a 40w bulb (or combo of bulbs on it. All-Glass has a nice 55w CF light that would be perfect.

Equipment is the same as a regular FW tank. You could use specialty susbstrates like eco-complete, Turface, etc, but regular pea-sized gravel works will.

You will definitely need fertilizers. Probably not so much micros but definitely macros (ie: Potassium and Nitrate).