Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-21-2013, 06:33 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
flitabout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pipestone, Minnesota
Posts: 1,929
Re-mineralizing RO water

I asked this question earlier in the general board and I didn't get a usable response so I am asking here. What is the best way to mineralize RO? I am currently using Equilibrium. Is this wrong? Do I need to add something else? I don't want to kill my plants or my fish.
__________________

__________________
flitabout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 06:40 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivercats's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 13,146
In a planted tank Equilibrium is good and there is one that I can't think of the name but Brian_Nano12g uses. You want to use only the ones made for planted tanks. You don't need anything else.
__________________

__________________
Rivercats 220g planted tank
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 06:46 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
flitabout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pipestone, Minnesota
Posts: 1,929
Thank you! I started seeing that people where using other things and I thought I was doing something wrong and that maybe I had bought the wrong product. I saw that seachem has another product and I have been getting so confused.
__________________
flitabout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 06:56 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
J.Mcpeak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Normally, In A Tank!
Posts: 1,698
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...el-285731.html

Read this.

Freshwater systems only.
__________________
https://www.flickr.com/photos/928918...7632686866609/
FW-750L DIY, 120L, 2x110L(not my)DIY. BW-60L DIY. Sw (nearly!)(https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...se-284360.html)
^almost a DIY Fish House^ https://m.youtube.com/user/4tanks2day (L=litre)
J.Mcpeak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 06:58 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivercats's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 13,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by flitabout View Post
Thank you! I started seeing that people where using other things and I thought I was doing something wrong and that maybe I had bought the wrong product. I saw that seachem has another product and I have been getting so confused.
Seachem has Replenish which is for non-planted tanks and then the Equilibrium for planted tanks.
__________________
Rivercats 220g planted tank
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 07:07 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
J.Mcpeak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Normally, In A Tank!
Posts: 1,698
I've always used tap water to re mineralise RO.

You can adjust from 0 to Tap TDS.

For planted tanks the best thing by my experience is good substrate designed for planted tanks, good lighting to suit desired plants and additional ferts. I have not experienced any problems in 6 or so years.
__________________
https://www.flickr.com/photos/928918...7632686866609/
FW-750L DIY, 120L, 2x110L(not my)DIY. BW-60L DIY. Sw (nearly!)(https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...se-284360.html)
^almost a DIY Fish House^ https://m.youtube.com/user/4tanks2day (L=litre)
J.Mcpeak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 08:05 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
flitabout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pipestone, Minnesota
Posts: 1,929
If my tap wasn't so horrid I would just use it. After struggling for months to get my parameters stable I chose to go with RO water. My water is not only bad but unstable. I would rather do the same thing every week for my big change instead of having to track weather conditions fertilizers farmers are using. I live in farm country and do have city water. But these are the varying conditions of my tap water I also don't drink my water anymore either.
Ammo 0-2ppm
Nitrite 0-1ppm
Nitrate 0-40ppm
PH - 7.2-8.8
Phosphate .5-2ppm
I don't have tuns of records on gh and kh
GH 25-35 447-572ppm
KH 13-15 232- 268ppm
__________________
flitabout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 08:17 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivercats's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 13,146
Your doing the best by using RO and not drinking that stuff yourself!
__________________
Rivercats 220g planted tank
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 07:05 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
J.Mcpeak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Normally, In A Tank!
Posts: 1,698
Quote:
Originally Posted by flitabout View Post
If my tap wasn't so horrid I would just use it. After struggling for months to get my parameters stable I chose to go with RO water. My water is not only bad but unstable. I would rather do the same thing every week for my big change instead of having to track weather conditions fertilizers farmers are using. I live in farm country and do have city water. But these are the varying conditions of my tap water I also don't drink my water anymore either.
Ammo 0-2ppm
Nitrite 0-1ppm
Nitrate 0-40ppm
PH - 7.2-8.8
Phosphate .5-2ppm
I don't have tuns of records on gh and kh
GH 25-35 447-572ppm
KH 13-15 232- 268ppm
That's bad! Mine is nowhere near as rough! pH fluctuates inline with hardness according to rainfall, I must be lucky.
Uk water companies are not allowed to release water above gH 550ppm as it is considered unsuitable for human consumption. 280/330 approx. annual fluctuation. No other poisons! (Excl. chlorine)

With the hardness so high, to achieve neutral water the RO cut would be so great it would probably reduce those levels to zero.
3:1/5:1 approx.
__________________
https://www.flickr.com/photos/928918...7632686866609/
FW-750L DIY, 120L, 2x110L(not my)DIY. BW-60L DIY. Sw (nearly!)(https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...se-284360.html)
^almost a DIY Fish House^ https://m.youtube.com/user/4tanks2day (L=litre)
J.Mcpeak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 11:17 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
flitabout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pipestone, Minnesota
Posts: 1,929
That's why I just went with RO. I can consistently control my parameters. According to EPA standards our water isn't fit to drink. To be honest I would have never know how bad it was if I hadn't gotten back into the hobby.
__________________
flitabout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 11:49 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
J.Mcpeak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Normally, In A Tank!
Posts: 1,698
Before I was a fish keeper water was wet!
You had two types, hot and cold!
__________________
https://www.flickr.com/photos/928918...7632686866609/
FW-750L DIY, 120L, 2x110L(not my)DIY. BW-60L DIY. Sw (nearly!)(https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...se-284360.html)
^almost a DIY Fish House^ https://m.youtube.com/user/4tanks2day (L=litre)
J.Mcpeak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 11:51 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
flitabout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pipestone, Minnesota
Posts: 1,929
I know right????
__________________

__________________
flitabout is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, ro water, water

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.