Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-06-2011, 07:04 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
fishdud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 962
root tabs in sand

I wanna move one of my swords in my 10 gallon. I know they get big and will outgrow the tank but my fishies need shade. Just wondering if I can put a root tab in the sand? will it dirty the sand when it dissolves?
__________________

__________________
fishdud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 07:15 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Oscarr19's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,036
It should be fine. Most planted tanks use sand anyway.
__________________

__________________
Oscarr19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 07:16 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
fishdud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 962
Okay, thank you
__________________
fishdud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 07:17 PM   #4
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
It will dirty the sand if it has clay in it, but it should be buried deep enough not to be an issue anyway. The benefits outweigh the negatives.

Most planted tanks use sand? Who said?
__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 07:20 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
fishdud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 962
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetajockey
It will dirty the sand if it has clay in it, but it should be buried deep enough not to be an issue anyway. The benefits outweigh the negatives.

Most planted tanks use sand? Who said?
It's just a seachem root tab
__________________
fishdud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 07:35 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Oscarr19's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,036
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetajockey
It will dirty the sand if it has clay in it, but it should be buried deep enough not to be an issue anyway. The benefits outweigh the negatives.

Most planted tanks use sand? Who said?
I figure since sand is better for planted tanks from what I've been told. Lol jeta I feel like you've been out to get me these past few days :P
__________________
Oscarr19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 07:39 PM   #7
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oscarr19 View Post
I figure since sand is better for planted tanks from what I've been told. Lol jeta I feel like you've been out to get me these past few days :P
I'm really not, just wondering where you get these statements from, lol.

For planted tanks, most people use a clay based substrate like ecocomplete, flourite, kitty litter, sms, turface, aquasoil, or actual soil. Straight sand will work, but it does much better enriched with nutrients.
__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 07:40 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Oscarr19's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,036
Isn't that usually under the Sand where the roots would be?
__________________
Oscarr19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 07:45 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Oscarr19's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,036
Or am I just thinking of a fertilizer layer usually put under sand or gravel?
__________________
Oscarr19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 08:34 PM   #10
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
Some people put clay, laterite, flourite, or whatever and cap it with sand. Some people do these layered substrates, I personally put mineralized soil under sand.

But that's a bit different than just straight sand, which is what I thought you were saying.
__________________

__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
root tabs, sand

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two questions: Sand, plants, and my filter. bigbanker Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 08-04-2011 10:52 AM
Sand - the right one for my aquarium Ann7667 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 07-28-2011 02:01 PM
live sand nadya Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 07-25-2011 07:43 PM
To sand or not to sand? KreativJustin Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 07-12-2011 01:23 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.