Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-10-2007, 08:52 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 9
roots above substrate?

Most of the 'leafy' plants (ludwigia, wisteria etc.) in my tank grow roots all the way up the stem. They come out mostly just below each set of leaves. I have always wondered if I should leave these or should I trim them off? Is this normal? I never seem to see them in any of the pictures of other peoples tanks...

__________________

__________________
juantoro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 10:26 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Purrbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Iowa USA
Posts: 5,860
Perfectly normal. Some stem plants are more prone to it than others. You can remove them or leave them be as you prefer.
__________________

Purrbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 12:07 AM   #3
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
Clipping just below these is how you propogate those plants. Ugly as those are, they do have a purpose. Personnally, I trim them off because i don't like the look.
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 11:08 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 9
Thanks guys! I think I'll start trimming them as well..

On a related note, are there any standard tools for maintaining aquarium plants? Currently I just use a regular old pair of scissors for trimming and my hands for planting/replanting. I don't mind dunking my hands (luckily none of my fish have teeth cause they all seem to be quite curious and/or affectionate) but sometimes I just don't feel like getting my arms wet and wish I could do some quick trimming, replanting etc. from above the surface...
__________________
juantoro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 11:11 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jchillin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, NY (The Big Apple)
Posts: 14,951
There are a great variety of planting tools available. DrsfosterSmith.com has a set which includes those long pruning type scissors. I would recommended that you use stainless steel in any event.

*Some folks go so far as to use surgical supplies.
__________________
_________________________________
Jchillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 11:15 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: black hills, south dakota
Posts: 2,373
Send a message via AIM to black hills tj Send a message via MSN to black hills tj Send a message via Yahoo to black hills tj
Maybe these might help you out in that situation:

http://www.drsfostersmith.com/produc...1&N=2004&Nty=1


also...just noticed this, although i've never seen it before. sounds nifty if it works well.
http://www.drsfostersmith.com/produc...pc=1&N=0&Nty=1


found some more options for you

http://www.petsolutions.com/Landscap...I-C-41-C-.aspx


http://www.drsfostersmith.com/Produc...&N=2004+113218
__________________
<.^.>Mike<.^.>

https://www.bhtj.net
black hills tj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 12:18 PM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
Purrbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Iowa USA
Posts: 5,860
My favorite tools are a nice sharp pair of scissors and a nice long set of pliers. When planting a foreground carpet of HC or similar plants a pair of splinter pliers is invaluable. The rest just sit around unused.
Purrbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 01:10 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 9
Wow, those are some serious tools! They have some cool stuff over on those sites. I'm torn, but I think I'll give the el-cheapo version a try to see how they work..

If the pliers actually allow me to replant things that would be great as my goldfish are constantly pulling my ludwigia up. I know, I know, goldfish and plants don't mix.. :-( but can't help trying to make it work. I use the ludwigia as a decoy as they seem to really like it. This way they seem to leave the other stuff alone for the most part... a couple bunches can last a good few weeks. But each day when I get home from work there are 3-4 of them floating at the surface so I'm constantly replanting... maybe I'll start a thread on plants + goldfish if one doesn't already exist...

but I digress..
Thanks for the info!
__________________
juantoro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 05:39 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rkilling1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NE ohio
Posts: 2,245
Send a message via AIM to rkilling1
Wow, you guys really go out of your way to trim up those plants. Maybe I'm just mean, but I just grab the plant, uproot it, and then rip it into pieces and replant.

juantoro, I hear ya on the roots growing everywhere. As Joy has already stated, some grow more then others and the ones you have are ones that are known for growing numerous water roots.

When you aquascape with these plants, you learn to cover up the portion of the plant that is growing these roots with another kind of plant.
__________________
My Planted Aquariums
rkilling1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 06:26 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: black hills, south dakota
Posts: 2,373
Send a message via AIM to black hills tj Send a message via MSN to black hills tj Send a message via Yahoo to black hills tj
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkilling1
Wow, you guys really go out of your way to trim up those plants. Maybe I'm just mean, but I just grab the plant, uproot it, and then rip it into pieces and replant.

juantoro, I hear ya on the roots growing everywhere. As Joy has already stated, some grow more then others and the ones you have are ones that are known for growing numerous water roots.

When you aquascape with these plants, you learn to cover up the portion of the plant that is growing these roots with another kind of plant.
Don't feel bad...I do the same exact thing. He asked, and I had some free time so I figured I'd help him out.
__________________

__________________
<.^.>Mike<.^.>

https://www.bhtj.net
black hills tj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
roots exposed kangster Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 06-02-2009 09:48 PM
roots? TheNamelessPoet Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 15 05-07-2009 07:31 PM
Roots SparKy697 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 14 02-02-2007 08:47 AM
Too many roots! CaptnIgnit Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 2 10-14-2006 02:10 AM
Roots? bmg213 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 01-07-2004 12:03 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.