scape help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Cliffz

Aquarium Advice Freak
Folks,
I have a had a planted tank for 1 year but never really considered the art of aquascaping. I spent the last year stabilizing the tank. Attached are a few pictures that I would appreciate any advice as to what would be next steps to start aquascaping. After you see the pics, any suggestions as too what I can do from here to make the tank nicer is appreciated!
Cliff-NY
55gal
dry ferts
injected co2
eco complete

Attachments

• Fish tank 003.jpg
    Fish tank 003.jpg
    124.5 KB · Views: 79
  • Fish tank 002.jpg
    Fish tank 002.jpg
    108.4 KB · Views: 74
  • Fish tank 001.jpg
    Fish tank 001.jpg
    99 KB · Views: 90
  • Fish tank 004.jpg
    Fish tank 004.jpg
    112.4 KB · Views: 77
I would add some driftwood, your plants look great. I am not very good with all of the scaping stuff. Good luck

A black background would help add some depth and make your plants really pop.

Right now you have a background and foreground, but not much of a midground. Adding some more plants of a medium height between your background and forground plants would help to create some additional depth.

Adding some driftwood could help to create some more structure to your aquarium. Make sure to yous a large enough peice that it doesn't get lost in the plants. Rocks would work as well, but I tend to prefer the effect of driftwood.

I would try adding more of the plants that you already have, and maybe even removing a few species. I really like the overall look and layout, I just want it to feel more filled in. Denser growth of your existing plants would help to achieve this.

20g-5ths.bmp