Seachems excel

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Grand1011

Aquarium Advice Activist
Does anyone know what the ingredients are in seachems excel? I've checked seachems website and other sources but can't find what is actually in it and if it actually forms CO2 or carbonate of any kind. I'm just curious because I am studying water chemistry and am a huge fan of aquariums as well.

nope..seachem says its a secret. but it basically metricide 14

Seachem says its "polycycloglutaracetal", which them claim is a proprietary blend that has efficacy similar to CO2. The rest of the aquarium world called shenanigans. A chemist (not me) analyzed it some time ago and found that it was essentially the same thing as glutaraldehyde, ie, Metricide or API CO2 Booster.

Just to clarify, it is in no way actual CO2, but a compound that plants 'somehow' use in lieu of CO2, although much less efficiently (although strictly better than nothing).

I have both the API CO2 booster and Seachem Excel, and what amazes me is the Excel takes care of Algae in my tank which is a HUGE plus. I had a problem the last couple of weeks where Black Hair was taking over my tank at a scary rate. Thanks to some members here and some internet searches, i found out one of the (pleasant) side effects of the Excel is Algae control. Just on that little benefit, i'm buying it regularly from here on out.
I run a pressurized CO2 system and was just waiting for my bottle of API to run out, as well as my regular Seachem Flourish, but i will continue to buy the Excel !!

Jim

I've used it to nuke algae as well. I had some staghorn algae or whatever it's called in my goldfish tank, and using a turkey baster with a 50/50 mix of water and excel in it applied to the infested areas killed off the trated area in about 24 hours.