Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-14-2007, 06:46 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to Atl300zx
Setting up the Rena XP3, intake/outake for the CO2 Reactor?

I am setting up my Rena XP3 tonite and was wondering if i should hook my external CO2 reactor up on the intake into the filter or the outtake from the filter? I was thinking the outtake would be better b/c every couple months i have to clean my reactor to rid it of the build up on the bio balls. Currently i am running it with a powerhead as a pump.

TIA,

Jimmy
__________________

__________________
Atl300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2007, 07:16 PM   #2
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
I run mine on the intake. THe original thought there was that if any bubbles got through, the impeller would chop them up. However, now that I have my reactor, I see that bubbles never make it all the way through it, so I doubt it would matter honestly. But, since the pump is working to push the water up against gravity, I suspect there's potential for even more impact to the flow rate of the canister if you put it on the exhaust of the canister.
__________________

__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2007, 11:42 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 266
I also had the same question and just stuck it on the out flow of a Rena XP3--no problem- adequate flow. Maybe on the intake is better but for now I cut all the lines for outflow setup.
Next time around maybe I'll try intake.
__________________
Cliffz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2007, 09:16 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Purrbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Iowa USA
Posts: 5,860
Both will work. It's just a matter of deciding which way works best for you and your filter. If it's on the Intake it's going to need to be cleaned more often, but if it's on the Output it will slow down the return flow.
Purrbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2007, 08:05 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to Atl300zx
So i opened my XP3 and it was missing a bunch of parts (the whole accessory pack including intake and outtake gear and some of the chemicals). Petsmart is sending me a whole other one and they told me just to send the canister and pump back and that i could keep the various mechanical filters and the Bio-zorb that was included. I cant complain much though, b/c i got it for $78 shipped.

They have a deal now, free shipping on orders over $50. The XP3 is usually $105, then there is a $30 coupon for the XP3 available on the internet to use at Petsmart ($15 off the XP1, XP2, $30 off XP3, XP4).
__________________
55 Gallon Tank Log
Atl300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 07:53 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Greenwood, SC
Posts: 1,089
Send a message via AIM to Electrobes
Hey by chance do you remember what the coupon code was (if it was a code)? Petsmart isn't showing it...?
__________________
Electrobes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2007, 08:09 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to Atl300zx
I just went to the link for the coupon and it looks like they pulled the deal early. It was supposed to be thru 5/25
__________________
55 Gallon Tank Log
Atl300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2007, 08:12 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atl300zx
I just went to the link for the coupon and it looks like they pulled the deal early. It was supposed to be thru 5/25
It was missing a week ago. The code is xp3/xp4
worked for me last week
__________________
Algenco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2007, 09:01 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Greenwood, SC
Posts: 1,089
Send a message via AIM to Electrobes
That's a shame.. it doesn't work anymore.. oh well
__________________
Electrobes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 05:15 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Electrobes
That's a shame.. it doesn't work anymore.. oh well
It still works. It expires tomorrow.

I just tried it on their site and it gave me the discount.
__________________

__________________
jeffk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
co2, intake, reactor, rena, setting up, xp3

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rena XP3 help! Cliffz General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 10-09-2007 09:13 PM
Ok, now to Xp3 intake/outake setup questions.... Alchemy129 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 02-23-2007 08:11 PM
XP3 intake too strong for fish - Solution! neilanh Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 31 02-19-2007 03:37 PM
CO2 Reactor 1000 and XP3 Lonewolfblue General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 10-01-2006 09:57 PM
rena xp3 chasingtime General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 11-19-2004 09:57 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.