Shock treatment !!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Cococalm

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have 5 aquariums of which only 2 contain fish. The other 3 are getting major overhauls .... something I have never done before. The 2 containing fish are in unplanted bare aquariums for now awaiting their new habitats.

I have many plants that unfortunately accumulated some algae on their leaves which I wish to remove. On some of these, the algae came off really easily with some light rubbing, but before I replant my tanks with these plants, I want to give them an ANTI ALGAE shock treatment to get rid of what remains. I know I can remove leaves, but this would completely destroy the majestic size and volume of the Anubias, Cryptocorynes and Echinodoruses. I realise that my action is drastic and something not recommended generally and this is why I separated everything out.

Whilst doing this I wish to also get rid of any eggs and surviving members of the "planorbe" family of snails ... these pesky flat ramhorn shaped snails of which I simply have too many ... I know, feeding was a problem, but being hospitalised for a lengthy period did not help matters as inexperienced people were left to care for my aquariums .... hence the need for the major overhauls.

So, my questions are the following ....

1. What substance can I use as a SHOCK TREATMENT against algae without having to remove the beautiful and bountiful leaves the plants have already ?

These same plants will then be transplanted into the renewed tanks for aclimatisation before adding fish.

2. Furthermore, what anti snail product can I use to ensure that my newly transplanted plants carry no eggs nor live snails into the new tanks?

(predator snails will be introduced later as eggs are often introduced with the foods given to the fish)

Thank you for the input.