Starting Up New Planted Tank Help!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

harryggumb

Aquarium Advice Freak
So I'm starting my tank up and I'm trying to figure the aquascape out. I definitely want a medium to heavily planted tank. My lighting system is pretty weak right now too. What substrate should i look to get? I'm thinking something fine like almost sand but I'm open to opinions. Also do i need to add dirt as well or will the plants be able to thrive off of any substrate that i decide on? Do you think I should change the lighting or just opt with lower light plants? Might throw an air stone in there as well to keep constant O2 moving. Please feel free to leave feedback and recommendations considering im new to this!

Hi there. I have a very heavily planted tank with medium level lighting. The substrate is Eco Complete, black. I use Co2 injection and Excel (Glut) as carbon sources. I use root tabs for the heavy root feeders like swords and crypts and Flourish comprehensive for the water column feeders like Java Moss and Java Fern.
This is the result:
ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1433797486.982610.jpg
I'm not sure about planting into gravel or sand as there are no nutrients initially, when you want the plants to establish. I stayed away from soil because I have Malayan Trumpet Snails and they gently turn over the substrate when they bury themselves during the day, I think they would bring the soil up through any gravel or sand cap.