SUBSTRATE: Flourite+Gravel+Sand

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

vcorey04

Aquarium Advice Activist
I bought Black Flourite to be a plant supplement mixed with gravel, but i was reading about Takasi Amano's new line of Aquascaping products while considering my purchase of sand.

for those unfamiliar with his work, GOOGLE IT!!!:D

Aqua Soil Amazonia

That link shows stuff called Aqua Soil Amazonia. I'm interested primarily in the feature of pH regulation...

I need sand, but i'm not sure if this soil, is what i should buy??:confused:

Since i am new to this, will some of you please cast an opinion on what you think about this?

My LFS will be carrying his line of products, but i'd rather find it myself online than pay their retail mark-up...;)

ALSO, does anyone know where i can get Malaysian Trumpeter Snails online?

i live in Southern California, so for those that felt the Earthquake and are familiar with a store in the area, that is helpful 411 as well.

v

:splat:

waiting to change my substrate is AGONIZING!

Aquasoil is an excellant Plant Substrate, but it is not sand. It's very fine grained and will break down over about a year (faster or slower depending on how often you move and rearrange your plants), at which point it will need to be replaced. I would not recommend mixing it with anything else as a result.

I'd just post a want ad in the Barter Trade forum. I'm sure another member would be willing to send you Malaysian Trumpet Snails for the price of shipping.

Aquasoil = Flourite????

which one is better??

which one lasts longer?

does flourite require sand?

will flourite lower my pH like the Aquasoil will?

haha.. thanks for the wonderful suggestion.

i'll try the petco down the street...