substrate question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

PaintedCarcus

Aquarium Advice Newbie
ok so ive been slowly making my tanks natural and i was wondering if it is possible to put sand over gravel.i have a medium sized gravel that my plants are well rooted into but i would like the look of sand better is it a bad idea to put sand over the gravel.make it harder to clean?i do have some dwarf hair grass coming soon so would sand be ok for it?im a newbie to this so just wanted to check before i did this. thanks!

It would be harder to clean when you mix the sand and gravel, I would just completely change the gravel to sand, Much better for Dwarf Tear (Yes they would do great with Sand)

Tyler

Defintely just remove the gravel.

Sand is mroe natural, but be careful about what type you use. Cheapo sands can cause a lot of serious problems. From taking FOREVER to clean, to silica causing brown algae, fine particles burning out filters, toxic anoxic pockets developing, and compaction preventing plants from rooting. Buy sand made for aquariums and you can avoid most if not all of these problems (depending on which sand you use).

IMO I wouldn't use sand just because the difficulty in cleaning and it can clog up your filters. Some plants won't root well in sand.

The right sand will sink quickly, so the only way it will be a problem to filters is if fish (like goldfish or cichlids) actually pick some up and spit it into the filter intake.

There are no issues cleaning it, debris stays on top where you either vacuum it or have enough flow to keep it moving until the filters collect it.

I only use Estes' Ultra Reef (freshwater safe) so this may affect the difference in experiences.