Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-08-2007, 10:45 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cary NC USA
Posts: 669
Send a message via Yahoo to swanandmokashi
The thing I was fearing -- has happened :(

Ok I am still setting up my new 55 gallon. I have a few plants in there and have been dosing ferts as follows:
M-W-F
+/- 1/8 (10ml) Trace Elements

TU-TH-Sunday
+/- 1/2 tsp KN03
+/- 1/8 tsp KH2P04 3x a week
+/- 1/8 tsp K2S04 3x a week

Saturday
Excel

SUNDAY
50% weekly water change

I have a 130Watts light on it and was going to go DYI CO2 (I know it is not the best solution -- but I do not have $250-300 more to spend on this tank).

Anyhow I was planning to move the fish from the 15 gallons tank to this new one soon.. Well, life has been extremely busy these days (I am working 7 days a week about 12 hours + we have a 5 month old daughter --so you can imagine) -- in nutshell, never found time to do the dyi co2 or to move the fish to this tank (and few other plants from the 15 gallons -- this 15 gallon has a lot of snails (MTS) which I do not want in the 55 gallon , so have to do the bleach bath etc and as mentioned above have no time to spare other than the regular water change on the 15 gallon

So because of this negligence, the unwanted guest has made an arrival -- thread algae

So what is the solution? How do I get rid of the algae? My project is expected to slow down from tomorrow and I should have some time over the weekend -- what can I do? Do I keep adding the ferts? How long should hte light be on? Will CO2 help?
__________________

__________________
55 Gallon FW,Eco-complete Substrate
Equipment : In-line heater, RENA XP3 filter, 130 Watts Fluroscent
Plants - x Cryptocoryne wendtii brown
Fish : 10 Tiger Barbs, 2 Blue German Rams, 2 Bolivian Rams, 1 Rainbow shark
swanandmokashi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 10:51 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
Try removing the algae manually and backing down on the lighting some. Why are you only adding Excel once a week?
__________________

__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 09:18 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 901
I am running DIY CO2 on my 55 gal also. It is working out fine, so no worries for you on that, ok? =)

I would however check your CO2 level (get chucks calculator, helps a lot) and see what it is at. You might need to up it. It is harder to keep the level up on a 55 with DIY CO2. I have 4 1 gallon jugs for mine, and planning to add a 5th this weekend.

Also, what is your CO2 diffusion method?

Like rich said, back off the lighting a little...6 hrs a day or so. remove as much of the algae as you can (trim the leaves back on the plants affected if you have to, use a toothbrush and hot water to get it off decor).

Also monitor your PO4 and NO3. Post those, and your CO2 level (if you don't know how to get CO2, post your pH and KH and we can get you an estimated calculation) and maybe we can help pinpoint a problem that needs adjusting.
__________________
Watch our thread! A MyCatsDrool and Travis Simonson Joint Production....55 Tanganyikan Tank. It is hidden in the photography showcase. It is really my tank, but Trav is helping and we live next door from each other...so....

CCTV Has shut its doors. Off the air.
5.5 gal ADA rimless cube, fully planted, killifish breeder. coming soon to a forum near you.
It's called Sex Panther, by Odeon. Illegal in 9 countries. Yep, it's made with bits of real panther, so you know it's good.
MyCatsDrool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 09:40 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cary NC USA
Posts: 669
Send a message via Yahoo to swanandmokashi
Quote:
Originally Posted by rich311k
Try removing the algae manually and backing down on the lighting some. Why are you only adding Excel once a week?
Sorry I meant "Florish" Not Excel
__________________
55 Gallon FW,Eco-complete Substrate
Equipment : In-line heater, RENA XP3 filter, 130 Watts Fluroscent
Plants - x Cryptocoryne wendtii brown
Fish : 10 Tiger Barbs, 2 Blue German Rams, 2 Bolivian Rams, 1 Rainbow shark
swanandmokashi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 03:30 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1,114
Your fert routine as you posted it will result in about these weekly PPMs:
Nitrate: 23 ppm
Phosphate: 7 ppm
Potassium: 22 ppm

The phosphate is very high relative to nitrate. Raise the KNO3 and K2SO4 some (+.25%)
Lower the KH2PO4 by half.

btw, on micros...when it says to dose (+/- 1/8 (10ml) Trace Elements) the 1/8 is 1/8 teaspoon of CSM+B dry, the 10ml is based on liquid fert mix of the same CSM+B. The +/- means adjust as needed.
Your trace levels are a bit high based on the lights provided, try cutting that dosage in half.

Finally, Do try the DIY CO2, probably 2-4 2-liter bottles, and read up on mist method diffusion. Also, try only running lights 10 hours a day.

http://webpages.charter.net/zezmo/EI..._v4_public.xls
__________________
Zezmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 03:32 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
An t-iasg's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Criders Corners, PA
Posts: 9,889
In addition to the above advice - Which plants have algae? If it is a fast-growing stem plant, you can cut off the most badly affected areas of the plant. Although they'll look like funny little stubs, they'll grow in quickly, especially if you get your CO2 running. If the top is algae-free, then cut it off and replant just the top. It will grow new roots quickly.

I have had fairly good luck with pouring about 1/8 cup Excel into a bucket with about 6 cups of water, and soaking the plants to get the algae off. Only leave them in the Excel water for 5 minutes, and then rinse very thoroughly under running water. Soak the plants in clean water for another 10 minutes before replanting. If you're going to do a bleach bath to get rid of snails, you could see if that kills the algae too. Just use a very dilute concentration of bleach, rinse well and soak in clean water with lots of dechlor.

If you use the Excel method, be aware that the algae won't die immediately. You'll be able to pull some off as you rinse, but over the next few days, you'll see more of the algae turn black and you'll be able to remove it easily during a quick rinse at your next water change.
__________________







An t-iasg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 04:31 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cary NC USA
Posts: 669
Send a message via Yahoo to swanandmokashi
Thanks as always --- great advice ! Looks like I will get some time to fix the CO2 system over the weekend
__________________
55 Gallon FW,Eco-complete Substrate
Equipment : In-line heater, RENA XP3 filter, 130 Watts Fluroscent
Plants - x Cryptocoryne wendtii brown
Fish : 10 Tiger Barbs, 2 Blue German Rams, 2 Bolivian Rams, 1 Rainbow shark
swanandmokashi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 10:52 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cary NC USA
Posts: 669
Send a message via Yahoo to swanandmokashi
OK I have added 4 2L bottles for DYI co2 -- the plants (including the algae :p) has started pearling.

I got my readings teh other day :

ph : 7.4
Ammonia : 0
Nitrite : 0
Nitrates 40-80

Need o get a KH test

Still no sign of the algae reducing. It is taking over some plants now and looking quite ugly.
__________________
55 Gallon FW,Eco-complete Substrate
Equipment : In-line heater, RENA XP3 filter, 130 Watts Fluroscent
Plants - x Cryptocoryne wendtii brown
Fish : 10 Tiger Barbs, 2 Blue German Rams, 2 Bolivian Rams, 1 Rainbow shark
swanandmokashi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007, 10:17 AM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
 
Purrbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Iowa USA
Posts: 5,860
Sounds like you're making some progress. What was your pH before you added the CO2? You're looking for about a drop of one, so if the pH was 8 before adding the CO2 you'd be looking for a pH of 7. I suspect you'll need a couple more CO2 bottles.
__________________

Purrbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some thing weird happened to my catfish... Catkramer Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 1 01-09-2009 03:36 AM
Crazy thing happened last night artoledo Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 07-24-2007 09:00 AM
Strange thing that happened to me tonight.... Lonewolfblue Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 12-02-2006 02:20 PM
A funny thing happened.... Glenc Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 2 02-14-2006 12:50 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.