Tired of DIY CO2 Injection - Need Guidance on Pressurized

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LindaC

Aquarium Advice Freak
I've been running a DIY CO2 system for maybe 3 months now and I'm already tired of it. It's messy looking, I have to keep my 2-liter bottle in a bucket with a heater to keep it running during the cold winters here in New England. We turn heat down very low in our house at night and during the day when we're at work. I'm also not sure if I'm getting too much or not enough, etc. etc..

I would like to look into purchasing a pressurize unit but not sure what to look for or what I need. Could somebody recommend a place where I could purchase the whole nine yards for a decent price? Tank and all! Maybe I'd be better off getting the tank closer to home, seeing the weight would most likely send the shipping over the top. Once I got the real deal, would I have to look into dosing ferts too? As of thus far, I've pretty much got away with not dosing and have found when I do add ferts to my tank, I get algea. My water is pretty soft to begin with, I do add baking soda to my recipe. My water parameters are PH 6.4 in am and 6.8 in PM and KH is usually 8 in the am and 12 in the PM. My water hardness is about 100 or between 50 and 120.

My tank is a 29 gallon, I do not have a heavy fish load. The tank currently houses, 1 adult male Blue Ram, 2 juvenille wild blue rams a pair of Apistogramma Agazzi's, 2 Lemon Tetras, 1 Harlequin Rasbora, 2 Ottos and 1 SEA.

Thanks for any help or advice!
Linda

The need for CO2 is driven by your lighting. What kind of lighting and how much wattage is currently over the 29gal?

Also, your Kh should not change during the day. pH, yes, but Kh is supposed to remain constant...its a measure of your buffering capacity and affects how easily your pH can move.