To mix or not to mix? Aquasoil and SMS

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

evercl92

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I have acquired about 1/2 bag Aquasoil Amazonia. I have 60+ lbs of SMS. I have a 30gal tank (30 x 18 x12) that this will be used in. I really don't think that 1/2 bag of AA is going to be sufficient for depth (please correct me if I'm wrong, I have no experience with the stuff). So, I was thinking I should use all the AA, and fill in what's needed by mixing in SMS. I guess the other option would be to use only SMS. I think that the plants could really benefit from the AA though, as I'll have 2x24wt T5HO lights over the tank.

Thoughts?

I'd save the Aquasoil for a nano where it can be of real benefit, and just use the SMS in this tank. If you really want to use the Aquasoil in the 30 gallon, I'd purchase enough more use it by itself.

I would do that, but I got the Aquasoil at an auction, and it was real cheap. I had only planned on using SMS, but I figure that I could enhance it by adding the Aquasoil. I've already put (plenty) of money in the stand and canopy for this project, and really wasn't looking to ad more expense.

A few of the moderators in our local group are trying Eco/ADA mix. ADA has one big thing going for it - it grows plants extremely well - and LOTS of little things against it - it hard to keep some plants rooted in it - it is easy to crush into powder when moving things around - water clouds very easily, etc.

The thought of mixing it was to reduce the problems while still getting some benefit from the additional nutrients.

I say go for it. AS is not that much more than any other aquarium substrate (thinking ECO, Flourite, etc).