Trimming Cabomba

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fred

Aquarium Advice Freak
Just wondering how everyone trims their Cabomba? Mine is to the top of the tank now and I'm not sure how to trim it properly. I've read to cut it 6" from substrate, replant the tops and toss the bottom. Cut off the top and re plant. Just wondering others experiences with it and what works best :)

The only way I have done it is to cut it in half leaving a lot of stem from the bottom of the top half and replanting the top. It seems to work just fine. The hardest part with cabomba is just keeping it down!

I just got my cabombas, so I have no experience cutting it yet, but I am interested of what the answer to this as I am learning with you.

Well, I have done this will all stem plants. When they hit the top of the water, I cut them in half and replant them. Before you know it, you have a forest of stuff. I think cabomba is my favorite plant but I don't have any. When you get too much let me know so I can get some!.

I have a 44g tall pentagon tank, with 2 T5-15w sorry can't remember the spectrum but I know one is for plants specifically (I think its like 6000k). My watts per gallon are 1.5. I also use seachem excel, once or twice a week.

Will they sell for any money? My tank is full of it now. It grew to the top in less than a month.I have 5 of them now and started with one. I just wish my wisteria would grow...

from, Adam

fred said:
I have a 44g tall pentagon tank, with 2 T5-15w sorry can't remember the spectrum but I know one is for plants specifically (I think its like 6000k). My watts per gallon are 1.5. I also use seachem excel, once or twice a week.