trying to understand lighting...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

eja206

Aquarium Advice Activist
I am getting better at this fish-keeping malarky...

But now i really want plants to thrive and become a bit more dense in my tank.

I have read the sticky on lighting... but as I am not very good at electrics, it doesn't make a huge amount of sense to me...

So here's the situation:
I have a 12 gallon tank (bet set up and cycled for ages)
On the lighting unit it says 240 Volts, 15 Watts.

I am guessing this is low level lighting?
If anyone can explain my situation and what plants would be suitable for it I would be most grateful!
The only plant that has survived long term in there is some sort of amazon sword (which i really like).

look forward to hearing from you all...

Is that 15 watts of fluorescent light or is that incandescent light? It makes a huge difference. It's hard to quantify light with commonly available information. Watts are a measure of the power consumed. It doesn't really specify how much of that power is actually converted into light vs. heat, noise, etc or how powerful and plentiful those photons really are. This is what causes so much confusion in aquarium lighting.

I'm going to assume you're running a fluorescent light because your sword plant is surviving. Even so, you're still in the low-light range. Anubias, java moss, java fern, and anacharis are all low-light plants. Amazon swords can survive at lower light levels, but they won't grow much. Be prepared to remove that sword plant. I have two that are busting out of my 29g.

If you really want your plants to take off, upgrade your lighting. T5HO fluorescents seem to be the best option right now, but you might need CO2 to prevent algae. The simplest option would be to add another light fixture exactly like the one you've got to double your light.