Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 05-17-2010, 10:04 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

trying to understand lighting...

I am getting better at this fish-keeping malarky...

But now i really want plants to thrive and become a bit more dense in my tank.

I have read the sticky on lighting... but as I am not very good at electrics, it doesn't make a huge amount of sense to me...

So here's the situation:
I have a 12 gallon tank (bet set up and cycled for ages)
On the lighting unit it says 240 Volts, 15 Watts.

I am guessing this is low level lighting?
If anyone can explain my situation and what plants would be suitable for it I would be most grateful!
The only plant that has survived long term in there is some sort of amazon sword (which i really like).

look forward to hearing from you all...

Old 05-17-2010, 11:35 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Is that 15 watts of fluorescent light or is that incandescent light? It makes a huge difference. It's hard to quantify light with commonly available information. Watts are a measure of the power consumed. It doesn't really specify how much of that power is actually converted into light vs. heat, noise, etc or how powerful and plentiful those photons really are. This is what causes so much confusion in aquarium lighting.

I'm going to assume you're running a fluorescent light because your sword plant is surviving. Even so, you're still in the low-light range. Anubias, java moss, java fern, and anacharis are all low-light plants. Amazon swords can survive at lower light levels, but they won't grow much. Be prepared to remove that sword plant. I have two that are busting out of my 29g.