Want To Start A Planted Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DaniFishGirl84

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm a newbie to plated tank. I have done some research and I am looking for plants that I can put in a low tech tank. I have gravel for a substrate, and low lighting. Any suggestions for what I should put in it?

Are you planning to put any type of liquid ferts? Java ferns, Anubias, Java Moss, Water Wisteria are good for low tech planted tanks. There's certainly more but just something to get you started.

I would suggest Java Fern, Anubias, Vals, the easier Hygrophila plants, and Dwarf Sag could be an option too.

Hi DaniFishGirl84,

Low Tech is a good starting point for getting into planted aquariums, however a gravel substrate with poor lighting, little nutrient or any form of CO2 supplementation is what I would call "No Tech". Basically no plants are going to do well under these conditions except algae.

Better to substitute the gravel for something like Eco Complete Planted Substrate (topped with gravel if you like) but don't make it deeper than about one or two inches as it is likely to become severely anaerobic.