Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-04-2007, 12:52 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 359
What is the option to diffuse a DIY CO2?

Just set up a very simple DIY CO2 - a 3-liter bottle and a silicone tubing and a limewood airstone. Added 3 cups of sugar, 1 teaspoon of yeast, 2.3 liters dechlorinated warm water, and a handful of crushed coral. In 1-2 hours, hundreds fine bubbles per second come out of the limewood airstone, which place at the bottom of the tank below the AC HOB outlet. The water from the AC outlet blow the bubbles everywhere in the tank, however, I guess half of CO2 still escape to air.

How to improve it with a simple and cheap diffuse method to catch more CO2?
__________________

__________________
gu2high is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 12:57 PM   #2
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
An easy thing to do is move the stone over a bit so that it's under the intake of the HOB. This will cause the filter to suck up the bubbles, and chop them even more in the impeller. You should check your CO2 level in this configuration so you have a baseline to find out what works better and/or worse.
__________________

__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 12:58 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Reynoldsburg, Ohio
Posts: 239
This is what I was using to diffuse two 2-liter bottles. It worked well.

If you would rather purchase something instead of making it, I have read numerous posts where people think highly of ladder type diffusers.
__________________
Cheers!
Ketso


55 gallon Planted - Tank Log
DIY Hood 96w 6500K
Rena Filstar Xp3
Ketso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 01:30 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Peyton's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Milton, WV
Posts: 702
I made this one a few days ago. Just an old powerhead and the end of a gravel vac. The co2 levels went from roughly 20-30ppm to 80ppm. Though it really needs a prefilter as you can see.

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b2...t/03032007.jpg
__________________
Peyton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 01:34 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 901
Is your tank covered? One way to increase the amount of time the CO2 stays usable is to cover as much as possible. The CO2 collects in the space between the water line and the cover.

Also, it sounds to me that if you move the airstone under the intake, you will be doing a fine job of diffusing. It is virtually impossible to fully utilize CO2. You could also consider an inline diffusion method (usually on a canister filter).
__________________
Watch our thread! A MyCatsDrool and Travis Simonson Joint Production....55 Tanganyikan Tank. It is hidden in the photography showcase. It is really my tank, but Trav is helping and we live next door from each other...so....

CCTV Has shut its doors. Off the air.
5.5 gal ADA rimless cube, fully planted, killifish breeder. coming soon to a forum near you.
It's called Sex Panther, by Odeon. Illegal in 9 countries. Yep, it's made with bits of real panther, so you know it's good.
MyCatsDrool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 02:45 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 359
My tank is covered with glass top, but has an opening of 1.25 x 8 inches for AC HOB. After running for 2-3 hours, the CO2 level is still 6ppm (pH7, KH2), no change at all. I want to raise it between 15-25ppm level. The 80ppm level may kill fish.

I now put the airstone under the intake and almost all bubbles go into it. I guess this method is more efficient. With this low level CO2, I think it is safe to leave the bottle connected in the evening. Will check CO2 tomorrow morning.

Thank you all!
__________________
gu2high is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 02:49 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 901
How high is the water level in your tank also? You want it as high as possible to reduce splash from the filter. O2 introduction offgasses CO2.

I fill mine to the rim.
__________________
Watch our thread! A MyCatsDrool and Travis Simonson Joint Production....55 Tanganyikan Tank. It is hidden in the photography showcase. It is really my tank, but Trav is helping and we live next door from each other...so....

CCTV Has shut its doors. Off the air.
5.5 gal ADA rimless cube, fully planted, killifish breeder. coming soon to a forum near you.
It's called Sex Panther, by Odeon. Illegal in 9 countries. Yep, it's made with bits of real panther, so you know it's good.
MyCatsDrool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 03:06 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 359
I keep it one inch under the glass top, try to avoid leaving water mark on the glass top. And, it is slightly more than one inch from AC HOB outlet to the water level.
__________________
gu2high is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 03:27 PM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
 
Purrbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Iowa USA
Posts: 5,860
That's your problem. The water splashing as it returns from the HOB to the tank is gassing off the lion's share of your CO2. You need to raise the water level so that the water doesn't splash as it returns to the tank.

Also, it isn't until CO2 levels get over 100ppm that you are likely to start having problems with your fish.
Purrbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 09:00 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 359
This morning, CO2 level is 10-12ppm. It is improving.
__________________

__________________
gu2high is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
co2, diy, diy co2

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
using filter pump to diffuse co2? Jrmobb Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 2 08-10-2009 01:32 AM
DIY co2 diffusers out of odd things! (aka co2 diffuser Mk2) kennef DIY Projects 2 04-03-2007 05:12 PM
Best way to diffuse co2 in a nano Doog Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 20 01-17-2007 11:47 PM
best way to diffuse DIY CO2? JustOneMore20 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 47 12-14-2006 12:05 AM
best way to diffuse co2 in a 125 gallon? 875mill Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 11 10-23-2006 10:14 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.