Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-26-2007, 08:11 PM   #1
kaz
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,292
When Dosing Excel question!

I had and have my xp3 outtake facing the surface to cause aggitation to keep the co2 at ambient levels, I also have running at night airwond and a power jet running once in a while. They told be to do so since I i do not have a Co2 system. I had algae outbreak about a month ago and was told to use excel to stop it, so I did and it worked but I also have been dosing excel ever since every other day. My Question is should I now stop the aggitation of the surface or keep it going, will the aggitation let the excel exscape the water do to the aggitation or I am ok?
__________________

__________________
I thank you all for your attention and time!
75g/Rena Xp3/Inline Heater/Rena Air 200/Eco-Complete/Current Dual Daylight System
6 Rummy Nose, 9 Ottos, 2 Yoyo Loach, 1 Golden Nugget Pleco, 2 Julli's Cory, 4 Angelicus Botia, 1 Chocolate Kuhli Loach, 3 Ghost Shrimp, 1 SAE, 1 Black Mollie, 1 Redeye Swordtail Mollie, 1 C-Pleco, MTS, Guppy's
Plants
Argentine Sword, Amazon Sword, Micro Sword, Xmas Moss, Pennywort, Hornwort, Jave Fern, Baby Tears, Moneywort, Ludwigia, Wisteria, Giant Bacoba, Hygro 'Sunset'
kaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2007, 08:14 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
Surface agitation will have no effect on the excel. It is not CO2 and does not gas off. If what you are doing is working do not change it.
__________________

__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2007, 09:33 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jchillin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, NY (The Big Apple)
Posts: 14,951
Rich is correct, Excel is comprised of usable carbon and is not like the CO2 produced via injection which needs to have a stable water column or it is dispersed before it can be used by the plants. What you are doing is fine.
__________________
_________________________________
Jchillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dosing, excel

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fourish excel question timwag2001 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 03-23-2009 03:47 PM
Will CO2 Drop Checker Work if Dosing w/ Excel? theotheragentm Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 07-09-2007 10:21 AM
Question about dosing Flourish Excel to control algae. undbulsu Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 04-16-2007 02:45 PM
Should I be dosing Flourish Excel kaz Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 01-10-2007 11:09 AM
Experiences on Dosing Flourish Excel in Planted Tanks sleepylof Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 2 08-28-2005 06:37 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.