Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-23-2013, 11:21 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Planterjonas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 90
Will my crypts come back?

I recently started up this 5.5 gallon and put in my crypts from the previous tank because I wanted to change from gravel to floramax. However I did realize that my crypts would melt, but will they come back because they look in pretty bad shape...


Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2252685583.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	168.9 KB
ID:	208837



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2125380088.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	161.5 KB
ID:	208838
__________________

__________________
Planterjonas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 11:34 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dallascowboys16's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Highlands Ranch, Co
Posts: 1,966
As long as the roots are intact they should grow back pretty fast. Do you add root tabs?
__________________

__________________
55 gallon Planted Tank - 10 gallon Reef - 5.5 Pea Puffer
2015 AA Fantasy Football Champion
Dallascowboys16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 11:41 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
flitabout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pipestone, Minnesota
Posts: 1,929
Yep they will. Like Dallas said as long as the root is intact and they are properly feed with root tabs they will bounce back pretty fast.
__________________
flitabout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 11:41 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Planterjonas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dallascowboys16 View Post
As long as the roots are intact they should grow back pretty fast. Do you add root tabs?
No, I did not, will the floramax substrate be enough?
__________________
Planterjonas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 11:50 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
flitabout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pipestone, Minnesota
Posts: 1,929
No you still need the root tabs. Floramax isn't a fertilize just a substrate with a high CEC or Cation Exchange Capacity. Basically it binds up nutrients for later use by the plants. Fertilizers are still necessary.
__________________
flitabout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 04:48 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Planterjonas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by flitabout View Post
No you still need the root tabs. Floramax isn't a fertilize just a substrate with a high CEC or Cation Exchange Capacity. Basically it binds up nutrients for later use by the plants. Fertilizers are still necessary.
I also am using flourish excel every morning when I turn the lights on
__________________
Planterjonas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 05:01 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
flitabout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pipestone, Minnesota
Posts: 1,929
Excel is not a fert it is a liquid carbon.
__________________
flitabout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 05:29 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
foster53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,626
They will bounce back. I just split a huge crypt into several pieces, and replanted. as soon as roots appeared I put pieces of root tabs under them. They are call coming back nicely.
__________________
foster53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 12:28 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Planterjonas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 90
If you look at the picture it looks pretty messy, can I cut the melting leaves off?
__________________
Planterjonas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 01:54 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
foster53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,626
Yes you can trim them, in fact its advisable. Clip them as close to the Rhizome as possible. This will help encourage new growth, as long as the rhizome is healthy.
__________________

__________________
foster53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.