Will pond snails eat Staghorn algae?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Saverio

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hiya folks,

1st post here, as I'm relatively new to planted tanks, mine being about a month old. In that month I've been reading and trying to learn as much as I can and I must say, I'm really enjoying the look of my tank. For the last 2 weeks or so, I've really started noticing some algae growth. My algae crew currently consists of 4 otos, and 2 SAE's. I have a cherry shrimp order on the way.

Anyway, I've pretty much determined that the algae I'm seeing the most is staghorn and BBA to a lesser extent. I'm running about 2.4wpg with no CO2 injection. I'm waiting for my order of Seachem ferts (excel, iron, potassium, trace, nitrogen) so I can start a more regimented fert plan. I'll also be constructing a DIY CO2 system. In the meantime, I recently removed 5 pond snails that I discovered. My thought was that they would eat holes in my plants, as I've so often read. However, I've read a few success stories on this forum that has pretty much changed my mind about those little critters. :p

So, will they eat BBA and Staghorn?

The majority of the common pond snail species are NOT live plant eaters. They will eat dead/severely damaged leaves, and leftover food. I am currently cultivating a ton of pond and MTS for algae cleanup duty in my main tank, and for interesting interactions with my fish (they don't eat them, but every once in a while will become interested in them). They are not live breeders (pond snails) and because of this their population can be kept pretty well in check if your fish/inverts take a liking to the eggs that are laid. I think the reason why the population in my main tank never increased was due to this. (I'm growing them in a 10gallon QT tank)