Brand new...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ternaldo

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey everyone out there,

This is my first post and im not new to fish. I have a 100 gallon african Mbuna cichlid tank and a 250 gallon oscar tank, but I am new to salt water tanks.

I am making this post to ask you guys out there...I want to start a salt water aquarium and I absolutly have no idea what to do. As you can see im not new to fish so i think I can take the challenge. So if you guys can give me list of items I would need (such as protien skimmer) that would be great and how I would go about starting a tank.

Sorry for such a broad question but I checked on the internet and this is the best site I can find for salt water aquariums. Thanks a million in advance.

Its not much different than FW, really. In addition to the tank, an ideal set up has a sump and protein skimmer for filtration. One pound of live rock per gallon of water aids in filtration greatly. Sand for substrate. Then you have a heater (or chiller if you really need one). Dont forget SW test kits as well. RO/DI water gives the best results.

You can start the tank with the popular fishless cycle (there is a link floating around somewhere in here). It involves using a raw, fresh shrimp to kick off the cycle, and allowing the nitrifying bacteria to come about. After the cycle, youre ready to add fish/inhabitants a a slow rate to keep things in check. Hope this helps.

My advice is to take the time to read everything you can get your hands on, especially the posts on AA to decide what you want to do before you start spending money. And don't rush. It's better to save up and get the best quality skimmer, lighting (assuming you want a reef), etc that you can rather then going cheap and regretting it and buying the good stuff further down the road.