Breeding Angelfish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bluebirdspaul

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi folks im new to this forum and was wondering if i could get a bit of advice on the best way to breed my angelfish? Ive identified tbat i have a male and a female. And have them in a 50 -60L tank on there own. Is there anything i could to help??

ForumRunner_20120928_233734.jpg

I am NOT an expert but I do have a breeding pair of Angels (currently spawned 8X, none have been successful; yet!!) and have asked LOTS of questions!! One thing that I have learned is important (and VERY hard to fix!!!) is that your aquarium should not be in a walkway, it should be in a somewht secluded area. Reason being is that the Angels like their privacy big time during spawn!! Each pair is different personality wise, some will fight, some will kill other fish or even each other and some will be just fine; I have found this behavior before and during the spawn as well but once they spawn remember they will want to be left alone as much as possible. Oh, also expect to see "lip locking" going on before the spawn; this can be a mild or very intense behavior when it's happening. Very interesting behavior and very scary when they carry on intensly doing this (FYI: they can injure themselves while doing this). I have been told to leave the light on at night and to just cover the tank with a sheet or something (if in a walkway area) and not to go up and check to how things are going often at all; basically to just leave them be. Too much outside activity will cause the Angels to eat the eggs or fry. Also make sure you have some tallish plants with wide leaves or some other type of vertical surface for your pair to lay the eggs on. Usually they will choose a place and use it repeatedly but not always. The eggs take 48 hrs to "hatch", then they will be "wigglers" for a we