New 5.5g beginner

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Julie0228

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everyone. I'm new to the blog and just set up a 5.5 gallon. When I was in high school I had a 10 gallon but in my new apartment I don't have enough space for a larger tank right now. I set up the tank yesterday with filter and water conditioner. I will be leaving town on Wednesday for 4 days so I was planning on just letting the tank sit and do its thing while I'm gone. Was hoping to be able to add some fish when I get back. Was wondering about fish less and fish in cycling. What should I do? I would like as much advice as possible. Could I add a beta for a fish in cycle? Or maybe a couple danios or something? Thanks for the advice!

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Welcome aboard !! Fish in or fish less cycling are both fairly easy. I've done fish in ever since I can remember, but that's just me. Here are some links on both styles.

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f12/fish-in-cycling-step-over-into-the-dark-side-176446.html

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/tips-and-tricks-for-your-fastest-fishless-cycle/

A betta in a 5.5 is doable and would be a much nicer home than a little glass bowl at an LFS.

Here is another link for some common abbreviations that appear from time to time that you may not be familiar with.

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/faq.php?faq=acronyms#faq_acronyms_list

Hope these get you going in the right direction. Keep us posted and have a safe trip !!

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium advice.

If I do a beta what would be a good tank mate? Maybe a dwarf frog?

I wouldn't do a dwarf frog/betta combo in anything less than a 10g. At most I would suggest apple snails or ghost shrimp. You could probably fit 6-8 ghosts in there or 3-4 snails.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium advice.