BROWN growth / I’m a SW newbie

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

chimbica

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hey everyone !

So I’ll start off by saying hello !

I have a 55G , Fluval G6 with two small live rocks, two mated pair clown fish (approx 4years of age) one cleaner shrimp and an anemone. Fluval lighting (forgot the name but I know it’s a proper one because I went to a salt water speciality store to purchase it)

I rescued these clown fish over a year ago when a friends neighbor was down on his luck and being evicted and couldn’t take them with him. So I did !

My clowns ( Coral & Marlin ) have been thriving ever since.

I unfortunately had to go to Puerto Rico for work for two months, just got back this week.

My mother has been feeding, water changing, filter clean out etc the best she could for me.

Came home. Fish are happy (they eat from my hand)

Got them a new rock set and a cleaner shrimp (already they let him clean them!!)

BUT !! A brownish GROWTH is all over my sand.....I cleaned the filter (G6) and did a 15% water change.

Also! I have a saltwater book — says that topping off when water evaporates , that the salt doesn’t evaporate which makes sense because my PSU reading is 35 and my filter would notify me. So the book says to top off with freshwater (I would prefer RO water but I live up in the mountains and the closest place is 3hrs away) thoughts ??

Any chance someone could guide me ? Thanks!!!!IMG_0065.jpgIMG_0064.jpgIMG_0061.jpgIMG_0066.jpg

Diatoms, most likely.

The new rock, if I understood correctly -you got new SW rocks? Did you add rocks or replace them?

Diatoms grow because of silicates in the water, new rocks could have added it, and also your water that you are using.

RO is the preferred water, you can buy slower units for $70 to 100. They don't process water very fast.