Does this make sense?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

vermonter310

Aquarium Advice Activist
I have a Seaclone 100 for my 72g FOWLR. It's been on the tank (HOB)since the word go and has yet to produce a single drop of skimate(sp) I was pretty much set on tossing it but decided to give it one more go. I mean half the people I talk to say it's crap and the other half say it's perfect for small to medium size tanks. In fact, it's DR. Foster's and Smith's Favorite! (It must be, I read it in their catalog). So I hall out the instuction book which is awful, says to adjust but never mentions how or what you should be looking for when adjusting. I mean, I know the adjustments in the air valve but what does it look like when it's adjusted properly, I know what the end product should be but I'm new to this SW thing and have never even seen a properly functioning skimmer in action before. There are no good LFS's. The closest good one is about an hour or so away. Aquacorals. Anyway, so I'm pretty much on my own here. I toss the instruction book in the trash instead. Open air valve......mucho air bubbles in the tank... close air valve......no bubbles in skimmer......you get the picture. So here's where I am right now. I have opened the air valve about 3/4 of the way...huge mass of bubbles in skimmer.....after a few minutes most of the bubbles that were dumping into the tank stop......foam moves up the tube and presto!......within 15 minutes I have liquid in the collection cup and very few micro bubbles being dumped into the tank. It seems the initial dump of micro bubbles happens when the air valve is opened but there is still a substantial flow of water through the skimmer, this flow slows a few moments following the introduction of more air (opening the valve) and thus slows the amount of water going back to the tank and carries fewer bubbles wit