FOWLR Tank Fish Selection

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

naplesbaitman

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am new to the hobby and have accrued some equipment from a friend. It is a 20 gallon tall tank and is completely bio. Reason being is I figured it was the easiest introductory way into the hobby. The tank is currently cycling but it is almost done (I hope). I currently have one very small black and white striped damselfish and I am looking to add more.

My question is, once the cycle is up, what kind of fish should I look into? Also maybe snails, crabs, and skrimp. I have a soft spot in my heart for predatory fish (I have been a snook fisherman all my life) and would like to be able to keep a few in my tank. Not Snook, but other fish. And I also am not opposed to non-predatory fish, I find them all fascinating! I am finding myself staring at the tank for hours on end just watching my damsel.

As far as food is concerned, if I went the predatory route, I have an unlimited access to bait skrimp at all times of the year and of all sizes.

What do y'all think?

and thanks ahead of time!

EDIT: It also has about 15-20 pounds of live rock shaped in a arched bridge fashion (If that makes sense). Two big pieces on each side and a bridge like structure arching across. There are holes under the rock and in it for refuge as well.

Congratualtions and welcome to the addiction.

That little damsel might make life hell on other fish in a 20 gallon tank. If this is your first go at it, keep in mind it might be easier to error on the side of caution when it comes to stocking a small body of water.

If you have access to live feed, you might want to take a look at a smaller angler fish. They are fascinating to watch and provide that predatory scratch to the itch you might have.

Congratualtions and welcome to the addiction.