Hang-on protein skimmer

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Matthew187

Aquarium Advice Regular
I am new to saltwater tanks and how some of the equipment for them works. I just purchased a hang-on protein skimmer for my 30 gallon tank. It has an ajustment for how many bubbles there are. Is it like the more the better or is there like an air to water ratio? When I turn it up it just makes my tank filled with bubbles is there a way to stop that?

Your looking at something called micro-bubbles. These are what skimmers spit out, and if its a HOB filter, chances are the return pipe is going directly in to your tank, hence the bubbles you see. Honestly, my skimmer did this for the first week or so, and then the micro-bubbles ceased to an almost undetectable level. However, if you feel you can't take it much longer, and that it is getting on your last nerve, usually fitting a sponge in the return section of the skimmer will help to eliminate a large amount of micro-bubbles.

As you can see on this picture here:

2hfsal5.jpg

there is a black sponge on the return pipe that not only acts as a filter, but works to eliminate bubbles as well. There should also be another sponge that sits in the return compartment to yet again, aid in filtration and the reduction of bubbles going back in to the display.

Is it suppose to make foam that goes into the cup right away? The water is about 3" from the the cup. Is that to far away? Does it have to run for a while before it will work?