Help with 55g

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bbeechamp

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Well, here is my situation. I recently got a free 55g tank with a stand, powerheads, lights, heaters, and crushed coral substrate. What I would like to do is make it into a saltwater FO or FOWLR tank. I have some experience in freshwater so I know the basics and have test kits. I might be able to get a protein skimmer for free also. Here are my questions, all advice is appreciated.

Could i get a couple HOB filters or would I need to get a sump?

If I do have to go with a sump is there any way to keep it really cheap?

Would I be able to make this an aggressive tank with a dwarf lion, undulate trigger, and saddle puffer?

If not what can I put in here?

Also, I am unsure about getting live rock just because of the price. I am trying to keep this extremely cheap because I'm short on money.

First of all, Welcome to AA!

If you have sufficient live rock, you will be fine with a HOB and powerheads for flow. A sump is not absolutely necessary but it makes things much easier and has many benefits. As for the live rock, you can have the majority of your rock be base rock (dry plain rock) and buy a small amount of live rock to seed the tank. Live rock is just rock that has bacteria, algae, and other creatures growing on it. In time the base rock will become "live". This is much cheaper than buying all live rock.

I know you're on a budget but if it's possible you might want to look into replacing the crushed coral substrate with sand. The CC can quickly become a problem if not maintained properly, but it is do-able.

I'll let someone else address the fish question, because I'm not too knowledgable with larger fish.

Thanks! I will for sure have to look into sand. Just curious, why is CC harder to maintain than LS?