How fast to bring up salinity?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jeter22

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm very new to saltwater tanks. Mine has been up and running with fish since November. I have done 2 water changes between now and then. I never added salt to the water during the water changes (obviously I misunderstood how to do water changes). I've been adding 2 1/2 cups of salt to 5 gl of water that I take out of the tank then return to the tank. Is this a good method? Also, what should I have my salinity level be at and how fast should I get it to that level? I have a Lemonpeel Angelfish and a Lubbock Fairy Wrasse. Below are the dates and measures of the salinity levels.
1-22 = 22 1-23 = 24.5 1-25 = 27 1-29 = 28
Any advice is welcomed.

Hi I am no expert yet but a few books and some good sources I have started my first tank too :) What all do you have inside the tank? Is it fish only? I was told salinity between 1.020 - 1.022 BUT 1.020 being most favorable was good for fish and live rock. If this is the case for you then your salinity is really high. Do you use RO/DI water? You should be pre mixing your water with salt 2 days before you change water and the salinity should be checked in both tank and new mix to make sure your not addin to much salt. Water changes should be every week sometimes 2 weeks depends on how good the biological filter is. You should be changing 10-15% of your water volume to get nitrates out and replace nutrients lost. Also you need to make sure to heat the water to the same temp as your water so It doesn't shock the Fish. do you use test kits? If not you should really get some. Don't ever just pour salt in that could easily kill all your fish. Remember water evaporates and salt doesn't so if the salinity goes up just add some good old RO/DI water to top it off :) good luck