live rock is turning white

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

foma2000

Aquarium Advice Freak
hey everyone. this is my first time posting and i could really use some help. i have a 9 gallon tank and a while ago my tank bit the dust so i took everything out, put new sand in, cleaned the filter with freash water, and started all over again. the other day i went and got 8 lbs of LR and a clown fish and added it to my tank along with the 1lb of dead LR that was already in there. i woke up today to find that some of my LR had gotten a little whiter and there were some small white patches where there used to be alge. is this natural die off from the long trip from where every it came from, or am i doing something wrong? please help.

No I was just curious because some crabs strip the corraline off the rocks and leave them white in places, others just keep it clean. Are you talking about the corraline or nuissance algae?

im pritty shure thats its the nuissance algae. its the green algae thats covering most of the rocks. i went to the LFS and got some iodine and iron supplenments. was that a good idea?

Did the LR dry out at all? If so, that could cause it. Another thing that can cause it is the difference in the lighting. What does the algae look like? Is is fuzzy/wavy? There is a variety of coraline that is green. I would be VERY careful about adding iodine to the tank. It's very easy to OD with it. The best way to control the algae is by controlling the nutrient levels in the tank.