Live Rock Question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bschnuck

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello, i am new to the site, and let me tell you this is the greatest thing around. I've already found lots of great information that i will use as i start my tank. I have a question regarding some old live rock. I have been running a 29 gallon saltwater tank for about 2 years, nothing special, has about 30 lbs live rock in it but mostly open for the fish to swim. Damsels, Clown, some pink fish (i dont remember the name), star fish, crabs, and a 2 inch sand bottom make up the tank.

I recently acquired a 55 gallon tank, that i intead on setting up and eventually transfering everything over to. Along with the tank i was able to get a 10 gallon tank full to the top of live rock (no idea how many lbs are actually in there). The problem with this live rock is it has not heated. The rock has been sitting covered with salt water for the past 6 months or so in this tank, and they added water so they rock remained covered whenever necessary. I would guess the temp of the water to be around 60 degrees. Will this rock still be usefull to me, or is it going to be dangerous to reintroduce it to the new tank once i get it started. Thanks for your help.

I would probably cure it for a few days in a seperate container.. check the water levels make sure you dont get any spikes..
but... Its probably pretty much dead at this point though... but still can be used for aquascaping.. If you already have LR in your tank it will seed the new rock even though its dead..

OH and welcome to the site!!!