Lots of fun questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lecithin

Aquarium Advice Regular
First off I should say that although I have never had a salt water tank I have a lot of experience with fresh water and brackish. I have also done my homework when it comes to my new interest. Although I would like to think I know a decent amount, I also realize I do not want to put my fish into a situation where they can not survive or will run into trouble.

To start, I think I have settled on a 45g set up. I've priced out everything, researched like a mad man, gone to 5 stores and seen countless online stores. With that being said I am still lost on a few things.

1) concerning live rock; does it truly matter which type I use? Tonga vs others, etc? There is a store near me that has the most beautiful LR I've seen and I would really like to use that, but does that somehow limit me in my choice of fish and/or invertebrates?

2) stocking; at 45g I know I can not have everything and anything but I do want something :) I've been told to find what you absolutely must have... that must for me is a Percula Clown Fish. Lucky for me, he/she seems to get along with most other fishies! I've also seen fire shrimp and they look like another beautiful thing to have. So, along those lines, what else should I be looking into getting? I'll do my best to make a list and post my question about that particular fish and see what you guys/gals can do...

Damsels: I'm worried it may pick on my other fish... should I avoid it?

Dwarf Angelfish: While I haven't settled on the exact type I'm more worried that the fish needs a larger thank... whacha think?

Butterflies: Another fish that I've heard may need a larger tank, though I do believe certain types would work well in a 45g.

Basslets (Royal Gramma): Seem fine with the clown and the shrimp, am I right there?