My first salrwater fish tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bms0565

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everybody my name is Brian I'm new to salt water fish tank I started my fish tank last week with the crushed coral salt water mixture and everything's been running for a week now I'm playing the waiting game before I add fish taking everything slowly any advice would be much appreciated

Hinds04 said:
Did you do something to start a cycle?

Not yet I just found out I need to put in a shrimp in my tank it's 40 gal will two shrimp do and I need to get some live rock

Not yet I just found out I need to put in a shrimp in my tank it's 40 gal will two shrimp do and I need to get some live rock

I would think one shrimp will be enough to get you started. It's just going in to get some food for the beneficial bacteria you want to grow. I don't think you'll gain any benefit (and it might actually smell worse) from doubling up.

You ideally want to get your ammonia level up to 4ppm. And be able to sustain that while the cycle progresses. I use pure ammonia, no stink and you can dose right to where you want it. :) You may have to add additional shrimp as time goes on though. Good trick, put the shrimp in a panythose foot, a brand new one, or a womans knee high stocking so removal of the decomposed shrimp is easier. :)

carey said:
You ideally want to get your ammonia level up to 4ppm. And be able to sustain that while the cycle progresses. I use pure ammonia, no stink and you can dose right to where you want it. :) You may have to add additional shrimp as time goes on though. Good trick, put the shrimp in a panythose foot, a brand new one, or a womans knee high stocking so removal of the decomposed shrimp is easier. :)

Should I keep the filter and heater on why it's cycling