New here

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cofano32

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey everyone my names Joel im new to this site, Im located in Northeast,PA and currently i have a freshwater tank i also will be setting up my FOWLR tank (55 gallon) soon and im gonna need some help and maybe a few suggestions i've been researching for about 2 months and now i think im ready to begin my project and get rid of the freshwater tank to make a QT tank for my saltwater fish. well im open to all suggestions so start them up. Thanks everyone.:)

Welcome to the site!

Go to the article section of this site and read up. There are articles detailing equipment as well as how to properly cycle your tank.

Any questions you have feel free to ask, we have a lot of very knowledgeable folks on the site!

East stroudsburg here... And i have read up on everything about cycling filters protein skimmers LR im not going to use LS i plan on using dry aragonite sand. but with my LR i plan on using azbout 70 pounds of base rock and 10 pounds of fiji live rock from live aquaria to see my base rock. I do have some questions on power heads also with some critters to keep my alagea in tract since i cannot use any type of shrimp or crab due to my fish of choice.

Hydor Korallias are a great option for your size tank. They are affordable and provide excellent flow with low energy consumption.

I'm assuming you are looking to do an aggressive FOWLR tank.?. Just a word of caution most of the fish found in those kinds of tanks require larger systems to thrive. They are messy eaters and you will need a very good skimmer to keep up with the DOC.

As long as you do regular PWCs (which I recommend highly with a predator tank) have a good quality skimmer you shouldn't have an issue with algae.