new tank questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

KLN

Aquarium Advice Regular
Things have changed in this hobby since the last time I studied saltwater tanks, and a few things are not clear.

What is an acceptable level of nitrates in a FOWLR tank? What is achievable?

Is it essential to have 4" of sand? Will 1-2" function as a filter bed? Can you add new sand on top without screwing up the sand bed already in the tank?

How much does PH vary? What time of day should it be checked, and what should it be?

I have taken my bio-wheels off. That is the correct thing to do, yes? (It now provides a lot more water movement in the tank.)

I just bought another 55 gal tank. Should I link the two 55s together? How is that done?

I want a yellow striped maroon clown next. Should I get two or will one be OK by itself?

Thanks very much for your help!

KLN
55 saltwater; HOT Magnum canister filter; Whisper 2 filter; 40 lbs live sand; 10 pounds porous rocks and ornamental coral; 15 pounds live rock so far; flourescent light with one full spectrum and one 50-50 blue and white 40 watt bulb; two cleaner shrimp; 5 turbo snails; one Domino damsel; one yellow tail blue damsel; one Fridman's pseudochromis.

What is an acceptable level of nitrates in a FOWLR tank? What is achievable?
I believe nitrates become toxic to most fish at 40 so definitely stay away from that number. As far as whats achievable, 0 with the right set up (plenty of LR, good DSB and good maintenance habbits).

Is it essential to have 4" of sand? Will 1-2" function as a filter bed? Can you add new sand on top without screwing up the sand bed already in the tank?