Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-29-2006, 10:33 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 236
New tank without a filter (updated with pic)

Hi everyone,

I've added a bunch of base rock to my system as of yesterday and some live sand/macro algae and it's created quite the murkey water. The tank is finished cycling but unfortunately my filter broke. I only have 2 powerheads and a protein skimmer. The problem is, I can't turn the protein skimmer on because it instantly fills with bubbles (I guess because there is so much stuff in the water!). I was wondering - I added some damsels when my cycle finsihed and wnated to know if they could survive without a filter? It will take a few weeks for a replacement


Picture of Tank:



The NEXT DAY! Powerheads only



Review of Rocks:

The rocks are MarcoRocks. They are truly amazing!! They were recommended by someone here and I jumped on it. www.marcorocks.com Here is my full review:

The rocks were AMAZING shapes and very porous. The largest rock (which can't really be seen) was like a mothership and must've weighed at least 30 lbs. All the rocks had great texture and shape to them! there are also a bunch of small pieces and rubble to have a nice natural look. Marc's rocks are just as he describes - extremely porous and totally awesome! I am planning to get a 2nd tank at some point and will definitely be stocking Marc's rocks again. My roommate recently ordered some uncured liverock to start his reef tank and when he saw my rocks he was extremely jealous. 100 lbs of base rock is far more than 2x his 50lbs uncured liverock. I would wager that it's more than 3x the amount of rock he received! Marc is also wonderful to deal with. he's fast to answer emails and very knowledgeable.

The bad (for Cdns only!) Shipping to Canada is non-standard for him and there were some glitches. It was not his fault but it did arrive slowly and fedex is just dumb. Not to mention it's expensive!! If you're in the states though..just go for it!!

__________________
GuOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 10:46 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,858
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Did you cycle your tank with out sand or rock?
How much rock do you have, now?
I'm not sure about the skimmer, so someone might be able to help there.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 07:42 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
First off...how did you cycle the tank? Did you notice any parameter changes? Your tank will do just fine without a filter. The "Berlin" method of filtration consists of a LS substrate, 1.5-2lbs/gal of mature LR and aggressive skimming...thats it. Many successful tanks are kept this way. You just need a few powerheads to circulate the water.
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 07:47 PM   #4
SW REEF 20+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 39,145
I agree that a filter is not needed. I`ve just made it with LR and a skimmer for the first seven yrs. The last two I added a fuge.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 08:40 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 236
I cycled the tank originally with fluval FX5, shrimp from grocery and 25 lbs of cured live rock.

I had a skimmer going for about a week - I still can't run my skimmer. The top part instantly fills with bubbles and the diffuser box overflows - there's just too much in the water right now.

Here's a pic of how it looks now. It cleared up a tiny bit more but it's stopped clearing. I was thinking of getting a diatom filter by Vortex (the XL).

__________________
GuOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 09:53 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,858
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
That rock is AWESOME! It's hard to tell, but do you have some caves? Where did you get your base?
I think a few of the folks in the previous posts can help with the skimmer. I have never used one.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 09:59 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Yeah no crap! Looks AWESOME! Where did you get the base???

I want some!

Also, like roka said, make some caves. Fishees need em =)
__________________
quixand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 11:21 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 236
The rocks are MarcoRocks. They are truly amazing!! They were recommended by someone here and I jumped on it. www.marcorocks.com Here is my full review:

The rocks were AMAZING shapes and very porous. The largest rock (which can't really be seen) was like a mothership and must've weighed at least 30 lbs. All the rocks had great texture and shape to them! there are also a bunch of small pieces and rubble to have a nice natural look. Marc's rocks are just as he describes - extremely porous and totally awesome! I am planning to get a 2nd tank at some point and will definitely be stocking Marc's rocks again. My roommate recently ordered some uncured liverock to start his reef tank and when he saw my rocks he was extremely jealous. 100 lbs of base rock is far more than 2x his 50lbs uncured liverock. I would wager that it's more than 3x the amount of rock he received! Marc is also wonderful to deal with.

The bad (for Cdns only!) Shipping to Canada is non-standard for him and there were some glitches. It was not his fault but it did arrive slowly and fedex is just dumb. Not to mention it's expensive!! If you're in the states though..just go for it!!

I appreciate all the commnets! the rock truly does look amazing!! You can't see it but near the back left there's this dome-looking thing that kinda has tons of little pentagonal craters that looked green when I first washed it.. it will look awesome when the water clears I'm sure. As for the caves, there are tons! I tried to stack it up so the fish can easily hide. It's really neat because a fish will swim in the left side and come out the right! Of course, they're only damsels. I don't know that bigger fish could fit/weave through the caves, but I don't think they're into that as much. Also, the caves in the bottom right go all the way to the back.
__________________
GuOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 11:29 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Very nice. Will deff. use Marcorocks.com for my base. No doubt.
__________________
quixand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 02:54 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 236
Do I need to have large caves?? I stacked the rock so that it was sturdy -- rather than trying to make fancy bridges etc. I could make some larger caves if it would be beneficial. I guess it's mostly crevices and alcoves now, rather than actual long big caves.
__________________
GuOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 08:13 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Depends on the size of fish you are hosting.

All fish like caves and stuff. It not only offers them protection, but is also a mental stimuli ( swimming through and around )

If you are just keeping small type fish, then what you have explained thus far sounds just fine.
__________________
quixand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 11:52 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 236
Here's a new pic from today! it's really clearing up well with powerheads only!!

__________________
GuOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 01:19 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
VERY nice. Get a skimmer on that bad boy and you'll be laughing mate!
__________________
quixand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 01:27 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by quixand
VERY nice. Get a skimmer on that bad boy and you'll be laughing mate!
Coralife 220 super skimmer can be seen at the top of the pic. It still can't run as there's too much stuff in the water but hopefully in a few days it wlll be clear enough.
__________________
GuOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 01:45 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Oh well look at that. LOL

Congrats!
__________________
quixand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 07:52 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: East Windsor, NJ
Posts: 254
I know this may sound stupid but did you try adjusting the flow on the skimmer with the red adjustment knob.
__________________
EJS4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 08:58 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by EJS4
I know this may sound stupid but did you try adjusting the flow on the skimmer with the red adjustment knob.
Hehe, thanks. Actually, I had it working perfectly fine before I added some macro algae bacteria etc.

The problem is, even at minimum, it foams over instantly. We made a makeshift solution today and it has worked quite well but it's still too saturated for the protein skimmer to handle alone. I think it will just take some time is all. At the lowest volume it would bubble over and fill up in under 1 minute.
__________________
GuOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 10:01 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 2,108
Send a message via AIM to hc8719 Send a message via MSN to hc8719
looks really good, how big is the tank?
__________________
"Atrocities are not less atrocities when they occur in laboratories and are called medical research."
George Bernard Shaw
hc8719 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2006, 09:02 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Misawa Japan
Posts: 253
Send a message via Yahoo to stevefromga2000
do you think that he would ship outside of the country to me? i'm in japan right now, but that rock looks pretty neat. i sent him an e-mail asking if he could ship it priority and how much it would cost, so now i'm just waiting for a response i guess. it's just base rock, so it wouldn't hurt it to be packed up in just a dry box for a couple of weeks, right?
__________________
stevefromga2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2006, 01:31 PM   #20
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,858
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I went to order 150Lbs from Marc, he is getting a shipment in on areound the 12-17, I believe.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, pic, tan, updated

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just and updated pic for now. Tank2379 Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 13 10-19-2008 07:14 PM
Updated pic of my 10 gal tank planted bballsosh Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 10 12-27-2006 04:03 PM
Dare I? UPDATED WITH PIC! lando Saltwater Reef Aquaria 16 02-08-2005 07:45 PM
Updated pic of my 125 gallon tank Sparky Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 11 08-11-2004 10:07 PM
Updated tank pic and a few extras reefrunner69 Show Off/Photography 4 04-03-2004 09:32 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.